Survey Metadata

Soil, Surface water, Stream sediment

Ontario

1994

Multi-media sampling, including soil, NTS 32D/5, 12, 42A/8, 9, 10, 42H/2, northeastern Ontario, 1994.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


In 1994, four areas in northeastern Ontario were selected for study: the Shoot Gold Zone, in Taylor Township; the South, Central and West Breccia Gold Zones in Hislop township; the Holt-McDermott and Worvest Gold Deposits in Holloway Township; and the Patton Base Metal Occurrence in Stimson Township.

Water samples were collected from flowing streams, springs and stagnant pools.  In the absence of surface water, a shallow sump was dug and allowed to fill up with porewater contained in the peat layer.  Shallow groundwater samples were also collected.  A 1” diameter PVC drive point piezometer was pushed down to the interface between peat and clay.  After approximately 24 hours, the water was sampled using a polyethylene hose and Waterra pump.

Samples of organic-rich materials in contact with stream water were also collected, usually bank material overhanging the creek.  Organic sediment at the bottom of the creek was the preferred sample medium if present.

In the peaty area, a surface peat sample was collected from a depth of about 30 cm.  Using a peat auger, a peat sample was also obtained from just above the peat/clay interface at sites where a shallow groundwater sample was collected.

One or more soils traverses were sampled in each area on lines oriented perpendicular to the strike of mineralization.  At each site, relatively organic-rich surface soil (A horizon) was collected at a depth of about 5 to 10 cm.  Organic-poor soil (B horizon) was also sampled at a depth of 30 to 75 cm.  On the Hislop property, C horizon soils were collected at a depth of 50 to 100 cm.  The study is described in Ontario Geological Survey Open File Report 5927.

Data Description:

Paper report, no data lists.

Quantities Analysed:

Water samples by ICP-MS for 58 elements; by hydride generation/ICP-MS for As, Sb, Se and Hg; by ICP-ES for major cations; by ion chromatography for major anions.

<0.15 mm fraction of organic stream material by aqua regia/ICP-ES for 32 elements; by hydride generation/ICP-ES for As, Sb and Se; by INAA for 35 elements.

<0.15 mm fraction of A horizon samples and <0.25 mm fraction of sand samples analysed by enzyme leach/ICP-MS for 61 elements; by aqua regia/ICP-ES for 32 elements; by hydride generation/ICP-ES for As, Sb and Se; by INAA for 35 elements.

Geochem Maps Available:

Proportional dot maps of dispersion of selected elements in soil at the Shoot Zone; element frequency distributions for water and B-horizon soil; soils profiles.

Other Analyses:

LOI on organic stream material and soil samples.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Jackson, R.G., Stephenson, D.M. (1994). Project Unit 94-21. Geochemical method development for the detection of blind mineralization in clay belts. In Summary of Field Work and Other Activities 1994. Ontario Geological Survey, Miscellaneous Paper 163, p. 268-269. (more)
2 Jackson, R.G. (1995). The application of water and soil geochemistry to detect blind mineralization in areas of thick overburden. Ontario Geological Survey Open File Report 5927. (more)
3 Bajc, A.F. (1998). A comparative analysis of enzyme leach and mobile metal ion selective extractions; case studies from glaciated terrain, northern Ontario. Journal of Geochemical Exploration, v. 61, p. 113-148. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1994-1995 Northeastern Ontario till sampling survey, 1994 (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
48.47° 49.0333° -80.6448° -79.73°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers part of NTS 42A/10 (Porquis Junction) in Taylor Township, northeastern Ontario.  It includes the Shoot Zone gold deposit.  It is located just north of Wabbler Lake an approximately 1.5 km east of the Driftwood River.

  • Covers parts of NTS 42A/9 (Matheson) and 42A/8 (Ramone) in Hislop Township, northeastern Ontario.  It includes the Hislop gold deposits.  It is located approximately 10 km southeast of Matheson and just north of the community of Holtyre.  Highway 572 runs north-south through the eastern part of the study area and the Pike River flows through the northwest portion of the area.

  • Covers parts of NTS 32D/12 (Lightning River) and 32D/5 (Magusi River) near the Holt-McDermott mill site, Holloway Township, northeastern Ontario.  It is located south of Highway 101 and the Mattawasaga River runs east-west through the northern part of the study area.

  • Covers part of NTS 42H/2 (Abitibi), near the Patton base metal occurrence in Stimson Township, northeastern Ontario.  It is located approximately 2 km west of Newberry Lake and Paton Creek runs north-south through the western part of the study area.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Sol, Eau de surface, Sédiment de ruisseau

Ontario

1994

Levé dans plusieurs milieux, dont le sol, 32D/5, 12, 42A/8, 9, 10, et 42H/2 du SNRC, nord-est de l’Ontario, 1994.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


En 1994, quatre zones du nord-est de l’Ontario ont été choisies aux fins d’une étude : la zone aurifère Shoot, dans le canton de Taylor; les zones aurifères South, Central et West Breccia dans le canton de Hislop; les gisements aurifères de Holt-McDermott et de Worvest dans le canton de Holloway; ainsi que l’occurrence de métaux communs de Patton dans le canton de Stimson.

Des échantillons d’eaux ont été recueillis dans le courant de cours d’eau, dans des sources, ainsi que dans des bassins d’eau stagnante. En absence d'eau de surface, on creusait un puisard peu profond et on le laissait se remplir d'eau interstitielle provenant de la couche de tourbe. Des échantillons ont également été prélevés dans la nappe phréatique peu profonde. Un piézomètre à pointe filtrante en PVC de 1 pouce de diamètre a été poussé jusqu’au contact entre la tourbe et l’argile. Après environ 24 heures, on a prélevé des échantillons d’eaux à l’aide d’un tuyau en polyéthylène et d’une pompe Waterra.

Des échantillons de matériaux riches en matière organique en contact avec l’eau de cours d’eau ont également été recueillis; il s’agissait habituellement de matériaux des berges surplombant le ruisseau. Lorsque présents, les sédiments organiques au fond des cours d’eau représentaient le milieu d’échantillonnage privilégié.

Dans la zone tourbeuse, on recueillait un échantillon de tourbe en surface à une profondeur d’environ 30 cm. À l’aide d’une tarière, on prélevait également un échantillon de tourbe juste au-dessus de l’interface tourbe/argile dans les sites où un échantillon de la nappe phréatique peu profonde était prélevé.

On a échantillonné les sols le long d’un ou plusieurs parcours dans chacune des zones, suivant des lignes orientées perpendiculairement à la direction de la minéralisation. En chaque site, on recueillait en surface des échantillons de sol relativement riches en matière organique (horizon A), à une profondeur d’environ 5 à 10 cm. On a également échantillonné les sols pauvres en matière organique (horizon B), à une profondeur variant de 30 à 75 cm. Sur la propriété Hislop, des échantillons de sol de l’horizon C ont été recueillis à une profondeur variant de 50 à 100 cm. Une description de l’étude se trouve dans le rapport public 5927 de la Commission géologique de l’Ontario.

Description de données:

Rapport imprimé, aucune liste de données.

Quantités analysées:

Dosage de 58 éléments par ICP-MS dans des échantillons d’eau; dosage du As, du Sb, du Se et du Hg par ICP-MS avec génération d’hydrures; dosage des principaux cations par ICP-ES; dosage des principaux anions par chromatographie d’échange d’ions.

Dans la fraction <0,15 mm de matériaux fluviatiles organiques, dosage de 32 éléments par ICP-ES après eau régale; dosage du As, du Sb et du Se par ICP-ES avec générationd’hydrures; dosage de 35 éléments par INAA.

Dans la fraction <0,15 mm d’échantillons de l’horizon A et dans la fraction <0,25 mm fraction d’échantillons de sable, dosage de 61 éléments par ICP-MS/lixiviation avec un enzyme; dosage de 32 éléments par ICP-ES/ eau régale; dosage du As, du Sb et du Se par ICP-ES avec génération d’hydrures et dosage de 35 éléments par INAA.

Cartes géochimiques disponibles:

Cartes avec symboles proportionnels montrant la dispersion d’éléments choisis dans le sol à l’emplacement de la zone de tir; distributions de fréqueces des éléments dans l’eau et l’horizon B du sol; profiles pédologiques.

Autres analyses:

Détermination de la perte par calcination pour les échantillons de matériaux organiques de cours d’eau et de sols.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Jackson, R.G., Stephenson, D.M. (1994). Project Unit 94-21. Geochemical method development for the detection of blind mineralization in clay belts. In Summary of Field Work and Other Activities 1994. Ontario Geological Survey, Miscellaneous Paper 163, p. 268-269. (détails)
2 Jackson, R.G. (1995). The application of water and soil geochemistry to detect blind mineralization in areas of thick overburden. Ontario Geological Survey Open File Report 5927. (détails)
3 Bajc, A.F. (1998). A comparative analysis of enzyme leach and mobile metal ion selective extractions; case studies from glaciated terrain, northern Ontario. Journal of Geochemical Exploration, v. 61, p. 113-148. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1994-1995 Levé d’échantillonnage du till dans le nord-est de l’Ontario, 1994 (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
48.47° 49.0333° -80.6448° -79.73°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre une partie de 42A/10 (Porquis Junction) du SNRC dans le canton de Taylor Township, dans le nord-est de l'Ontario.  Il inclut le gisement d'or Shoot Zone.  Il est situé juste au nord de Wabbler Lake et à environ 1.5 km à l'est de Driftwood River.

  • Couvre des parties de 42A/9 (Matheson) et 42A/8 (Ramone) du SNRC dans le canton de Hislop, dans le nord-est de l'Ontario.  Il inclut les gisements d'or Hislop.  Il est situé à environ 10 km au sud-est de la ville de Matheson et juste au nord du lieu non organisé de Holtyre.  L'autoroute 572 s'étend nord-sud dans la partie est de la zone d'étude et Pike River coule dans la partie nord-ouest de la zone.

  • Couvre des parties de 32D/12 (Lightning River) et 32D/5 (Magusi River) du SNRC près du site du moulin Holt-McDermott, dans le canton de Holloway, dans le nord-est de l'Ontario.  Il est situé au sud de l'autoroute 101 et Mattawasaga River s'étend est-ouest dans la partie nord de la zone d'étude.

  • Couvre une partie de 42H/2 (Abitibi) du SNRC, près de l'occurrence Patton de métal commun dans le canton de Stimson, dans le nord-est de l'Ontario.  Il est situé à environ 2 km à l'ouest de Newberry Lake et Paton Creek coule de nord au sud dans la partie ouest de la zone d'étude.

Mots-clés


Date de modification