Survey Metadata

Soil, Till

Ontario

1983

Humus, soil and till sampling, NTS 31F/2, Clyde Forks area, Ontario, 1983.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


Multi-media sampling was carried out in 1983 in the Clyde Forks area, southeastern Ontario.  In the regional sampling program (154 sites), surficial material was collected at 1 km centres.  In the vicinity of two gold occurrences, more detailed sampling (79 sites) at 100 m centres was completed.  At each site, a sample of the bedrock was taken where available and a hole was hand dug to below the B horizon (0.5 – 1 m depth).  In the F-H horizon, a 250 g sample of the most decomposed (blackest and finest grained) humus was collected.  From the B-horizon, a 250 g sample of the most Fe-Mn enriched (brownest) material was collected.  In cases where the B horizon could not be differentiated from the C horizon, the uppermost part of the C horizon was sampled.  Several samples were collected from the C-horizon: 15 to 20 kg of the till for pebble counts and heavy minerals; 250 g till sample as a “total till”; 250 g till sample for geochemical analysis and a 500 g till sample for future reference and follow-up analyses.  The study is published in Ontario Geological Survey Open File Report 5613.

Data Description:

Paper report, some data lists.

Quantities Analysed:

Au by FA-AAS on: <0.3 mm fraction of humus, <0.177 mm fraction of B-horizon; <4 mm fraction of total till (pulverized to <0.074 mm); and <0.063 mm fraction of till.

Geochem Maps Available:

Contour plots of Au in various size fractions and sample media.  Contour plots of mineralogy of heavy minerals.  Contour plots of pebble counts.

Other Analyses:

Pebble counts; heavy minerals.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Gleeson C.F., Thomas R.D., Paradis S., Rampton V.N., Martin L. (1986). Development and adaptation of geochemical techniques to gold exploration in glacial drift, volumes 1 to 3. Ontario Geological Survey Open File Report 5613 (more)
2 Gleeson, C.F., Rampton, V.N., Thomas, R.D., Paradis, S. (1989). Effective mineral exploration for gold using geology, Quaternary geology and exploration geochemistry in areas of shallow till. In Drift prospecting, R.N.W. DiLabio, W.B. Coker (ed.). Geological Survey of Canada, Paper 89-20, p. 71-96. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1983-1986 Clyde Forks area humus, soil and till sampling, southeastern Ontario, 1983 (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
45.1° 45.2° -76.65° -76.5°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers part of NTS 31F/2 (Clyde Forks) in southeast Ontario.  It is located 82 km southwest of Ottawa and 50 km northwest of Perth.  It covers parts of Lanark and Renfrew counties.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Sol, Till

Ontario

1983

Levé d’échantillonnage de l’humus, du sol et du till, 31F/2 du SNRC, région de Clyde Forks, Ontario, 1983.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


Un échantillonnage dans plusieurs milieux a été effectué en 1983 dans la région de Clyde Forks, au sud-est de l’Ontario.  Dans le cadre du programme d’échantillonnage régional (154 sites), des échantillons de matériaux de surface ont été recueillis à des intervalles de 1 km.  Aux environs de deux occurrences d’or, un échantillonnage plus détaillé a été effectué (79 sites) à des intervalles de 100 m.  Pour chacun des sites, un échantillon du substratum rocheux était prélevé, lorsqu’il était accessible, et un trou était creusé à la main jusque sous l’horizon B (profondeur de 0,5 à 1 m).  Dans l’horizon F-H, un échantillon de 250 g de l’humus le plus décomposé (très noir et très fin) était recueilli.  Dans l’horizon B, un échantillon de 250 g des matériaux les plus riches en Fe-Mn (brun foncé) était recueilli.  Si l’on ne pouvait pas différencier l’horizon B de l’horizon C, on échantillonnait la partie supérieure de l’horizon C.  Plusieurs échantillons ont été prélevés dans l’horizon C: de 15 à 20 kg de till pour le comptage des cailloux et des minéraux lourds; un échantillon de 250 g de till représentatif de « l’ensemble du till »; un échantillon de 250 g de till pour l’analyse géochimique et un échantillon de 500 g de till pour références futures ou analyses de contrôle.  L’étude est publiée dans le rapport public 5613 de la Commission géologique de l’Ontario.

Description de données:

Rapport imprimé, certaines listes de données.

Quantités analysées:

Dosage du Au par FA-AAS : dans la fraction <0,3 mm fraction de l’humus, dans la fraction <0,177 mm de l’horizon B, dans la fraction <4 mm du till total (pulvérisé à <0,074 mm) et dans la fraction <0,063 mm du till.

Cartes géochimiques disponibles:

Tracés avec isoplèthes des concentrations d’or dans divers milieux d’échantillonnage et diverses fractions granulométriques. Tracés avec isoplèthes de la mineralogy des minéraux lourds. Tracés avec isoplèthes de dénombrements de cailloux.

Autres analyses:

Dénombrements de cailloux; minéraux lourds.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Gleeson C.F., Thomas R.D., Paradis S., Rampton V.N., Martin L. (1986). Development and adaptation of geochemical techniques to gold exploration in glacial drift, volumes 1 to 3. Ontario Geological Survey Open File Report 5613 (détails)
2 Gleeson, C.F., Rampton, V.N., Thomas, R.D., Paradis, S. (1989). Effective mineral exploration for gold using geology, Quaternary geology and exploration geochemistry in areas of shallow till. In Drift prospecting, R.N.W. DiLabio, W.B. Coker (ed.). Geological Survey of Canada, Paper 89-20, p. 71-96. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1983-1986 Échantillonnage de l’humus, des sols et du till, région de Clyde Forks, sud-est de l’Ontario, 1983 (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
45.1° 45.2° -76.65° -76.5°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre une partie de 31F/2 (Clyde Forks) du SNRC dans le sud de l'Ontario.  Il est situé 82 km au sud-ouest de la ville d'Ottawa et 50 km au nord-ouest de la ville de Perth.  Il couvre des parties des comtés de Lanark et Renfrew.

Mots-clés


Date de modification