Survey Metadata

Soil, Till, Vegetation

New Brunswick

1995

Soil and biogeochemical survey, NTS 21G/13 (Fosterville), Dead Creek area, southwestern New Brunswick, 1995.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


In the summer of 1995, a small reconnaissance till and biogeochemistry survey was carried out in the vicinity of the Dead Creek Pb-Zn-quartz float occurrence, southwestern New Brunswick.  Samples were collected from 3 lines separated by 100 m that extended northward from the float occurrence, across the bog and onto the higher ground to the north.  B-horizon soil and black spruce bark were collected at 100 m intervals on dry land; bark samples were collected at 200 m intervals over the bog.  A few basal and deformation till samples were also collected from sections in the area.  The data are published in New Brunswick Department of Natural Resources and Energy Open File Report 96-10.

Data Description:

Paper report, including data lists.

Quantities Analysed:

<0.063 mm fraction analyzed by INAA for Au, As, Sb, Fe, Co; by ICP for Ag, Cu, Pb, Zn, Mn, Ni; by CV-AAS for Hg.

Geochem Maps Available:

None.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Seaman, A.A. (1996). Till stratigraphy at the Dead Creek Pb-Zn-quartz float occurrence, southwestern New Brunswick: indications for a local source. New Brunswick Department of Natural Resources and Energy, Minerals and Energy Division, Open File Report 96-10, 17 p. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1993-1998 Detailed Deposit Studies, Northern New Brunswick: Indian Lake, Grandroy and Stratmat (see OF 99-10 for list) (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
45.867° 45.895° -67.667° -67.628°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers part of NTS 21G/13 (Fosterville), near the Dead Creek Pb-Zn-Quartz occurrence, southwestern New Brunswick.  It is located approximately 80 km west of Fredericton and 30 km south of Woodstock.  It lies about 2 km south of the Hartin Settlement Road, 1 km north of Dead Creek and 2.5 km east of the head of Eel River on First Eel Lake.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Sol, Till, Végétation

Nouveau-Brunswick

1995

Levé biogéochimique et des sols, 21G/13 (Fosterville) du SNRC, région de Dead Creek, sud-ouest du Nouveau-Brunswick, 1995.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


Pendant l’été de 1995, un petit levé de reconnaissance biogéochimique et d’échantillonnage du till a été exécuté aux environs de l’occurrence de fragments de quartz avec Pb et Zn de Dead Creek dans le sud-ouest du Nouveau-Brunswick. Les échantillons ont été recueillis sur 3 lignes espacées de 100 m les unes des autres et s’allongeant en direction du nord de l’occurrence de fragments pour traverser la tourbière jusqu’au terrain plus élevé au nord. Des échantillons de l’horizon B du sol et d’écorce d’épinette noire ont été recueillis à des intervalles de 100 m en terrain sec; des échantillons d’écorce ont été recueillis à des intervalles de 200 m dans la tourbière. Quelques échantillons de till de fond et de till d’entraînement ont également été recueillis dans certains secteurs de la région. Les données sont publiées dans le rapport du dossier public 96-10 du ministère des Ressources naturelles et de l’Énergie du Nouveau-Brunswick.

Description de données:

Rapport imprimé avec listes de données.

Quantités analysées:

Dans la fraction <0,063 mm, dosage du Au, du As, du Sb, du Fe et du Co par INAA; dosage du Ag, du Cu, du Pb, du Zn, du Mn, du Ni par ICP; dosage du Hg par CV-AAS.

Cartes géochimiques disponibles:

Aucune.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Seaman, A.A. (1996). Till stratigraphy at the Dead Creek Pb-Zn-quartz float occurrence, southwestern New Brunswick: indications for a local source. New Brunswick Department of Natural Resources and Energy, Minerals and Energy Division, Open File Report 96-10, 17 p. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1993-1998 Études détaillées des gisements, nord du Nouveau-Brunswick, Indian Lake, Grandroy et Stratmat (pour obtenir une liste, voir le DP 99-10). (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
45.867° 45.895° -67.667° -67.628°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre une partie de 21G/13 (Fosterville) du SNRC, près de l'occurrence Pb-Zn-quartz de Dead Creek, dans le sud-ouest du Nouveau-Brunswick.  Il est situé à environ 80 km à l'ouest de Fredericton et 30 km au sud de Woodstock.  Il se trouve à environ 2 km au sud de Hartin Settlement Road, 1 km au nord de Dead Creek et 2.5 km à l'est de la source d’Eel River sur First Eel Lake.

Mots-clés


Date de modification