Survey Metadata

Till

New Brunswick

1993

Till sampling, NTS 21H/14 (Petitcodiac), southeastern New Brunswick, 1993 and 1997.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)




Survey Description


During the last two weeks of the summer field season of 1993, till samples were collected at 2 km spacing in the Peticodiac map area, southeast New Brunswick.  The field sampling was completed during the summer of 1997.  A total of 274 samples including four field duplicates were collected from hand-dug pits, road cuts and natural exposures.  Between 50 and 100 clasts (2-10 cm in diameter) were collected from the C-horizon from each sample pit.  At each site an additional sample of till matrix was taken from the B-horizon for future use.  Basal till was the preferred sampling medium, but ablation till was sampled where basal till could not be found within a 500 m radius of the sample site.  The data are published in New Brunswick Department of Natural Resources and Energy Open File 2000-8.

Data Description:

Paper report.

Quantities Analysed:

<0.063 and <0.002 mm fractions analyzed by INAA for 48 base, trace, and rare earth metals.

Geochem Maps Available:

Contour maps showing distribution of elements.

Other Analyses:

Pebble lithologies.

Sampling Procedure

Sample pits were generally 0.5 m in diameter and ranged in depth 0.4 to 1.0 m to penetrate well into the C-horizon.  Approximately 2L and 1L of matrix were taken from the B and C-horizons respectively.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Allaby, G.M. (2000). Till provenance and glacial history of the Petitcodiac (NTS 21 H/14) map area, southeastern New Brunswick. M.Sc. thesis, University of New Brunswick, 217 p. (more)
2 Allaby, G.M. (2000). Till provenance and glacial history of the Petitcodiac (NTS 21 H/14) map area, southeastern New Brunswick. New Brunswick Department of Natural Resources and Energy, Minerals and Energy Division, Open File 2000-8, 217 p. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1988-2003 Fundy Model Forest Project, southeastern New Brunswick (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
45.75° 46° -65.5° -65°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers NTS 21H/14, the Petitcodiac map area, southeast New Brunswick.  The villages of Petitcodiac, Elgin and Penobsquis lie within the study area.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Till

Nouveau-Brunswick

1993

Échantillonnage du till, 21H/14 (Petitcodiac) du SNRC, sud-est du Nouveau-Brunswick, 1993 et 1997.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)




Description du levé


Pendant les deux dernières semaines de la campagne de 1993, des échantillons de till ont été recueillis à des intervalles de 2 km dans la région de la carte Peticodiac, au sud-est du Nouveau-Brunswick. L’échantillonnage a été complété pendant l’été de 1997. Au total 274 échantillons dont quatre duplicatas de terrain, ont été recueillis dans des fosses creusées à la main, des tranchées de routes et des profils naturellement exposés.  De 50 à 100 clastes (2 à 10 cm de diamètre) ont été recueillis dans l’horizon C dans chaque fosse d’échantillonnage. On a en plus prélevé, pour utilisation future en chaque site dans l’horizon B, un échantillon additionnel de matrice du till.  Le till de fond était le milieu d’échantillonnage privilégié, mais le till d’ablation était recueilli lorsqu'aucun till de fond n’était trouvé à moins de 500 m du site d’échantillonnage. Les données sont publiées dans le dossier public 2000-8 du ministère des Ressources naturelles et de l’Énergie du Nouveau-Brunswick.

Description de données:

Rapport imprimé.

Quantités analysées:

Dans les fractions <0,063 et <0,002 mm, dosage de 48 métaux communs, métaux traces et terres rares par INAA.

Cartes géochimiques disponibles:

Cartes avec isoplèthes montrant la distribution des éléments.

Autres analyses:

Lithologie des cailloux.

Procédure d’échantillonnage

Les fosses d’échantillonnage étaient généralement d’un diamètre de 0,5 m et d’une profondeur variant entre 0,4 et 1,0 m pour permettre une bonne pénétration de l’horizon C.  Approximativement 2 L et 1 L de matrice étaient respectivement prélevés dans les horizons B et C.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Allaby, G.M. (2000). Till provenance and glacial history of the Petitcodiac (NTS 21 H/14) map area, southeastern New Brunswick. M.Sc. thesis, University of New Brunswick, 217 p. (détails)
2 Allaby, G.M. (2000). Till provenance and glacial history of the Petitcodiac (NTS 21 H/14) map area, southeastern New Brunswick. New Brunswick Department of Natural Resources and Energy, Minerals and Energy Division, Open File 2000-8, 217 p. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1988-2003 Projet de la Forêt modèle de Fundy, sud-est du Nouveau-Brunswick (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
45.75° 46° -65.5° -65°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre 21H/14 (Petitcodiac) du SNRC, au sud-est du Nouveau-Brunswick.  Les villages de Petitcodiac, Elgin et Penobsquis se trouvent dans la zone d'étude.

Mots-clés


Date de modification