Survey Metadata

Till

New Brunswick

1996

Till sampling survey, NTS 21P/5, northern New Brunswick, 1996.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)




Survey Description


In 1996, 202 till samples were collected in the western two-thirds of the Nepisiguit Falls map area, northern New Brunswick.  These samples filled in gaps from a regional Geological Survey of Canada survey in the area (GSC OF 2236).  Basal till was sampled at the plotted sample site (2 km grid centres) where possible, and at the nearest possible point if the site was in a bog or stream or underlain by extensive bedrock.  Several pits were sampled in glaciomarine and glaciolacustrine sand and silt in the central part of the area to test the geochemical response of these sediments.  The data are published in New Brunswick Department of Natural Resources and Energy Open File 99-10.

Data Description:

Paper report with data diskette.

Quantities Analysed:

<0.063 mm fraction analyzed for Au and 34 other elements by INAA; by a combination of ICP-ES (after digestion by nitric, perchloric and hydrofluoric acids followed by a lithium metaborate fusion) and ICP-MS for a total of 51 major and trace elements.

Geochem Maps Available:

None.

Sampling Procedure

At each site, a sample comprising approximately 5 kg of basal till and approximately 75 pebbles (>1 cm) from till was collected from hand dug pits 0.5 to 1 m deep.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Parkhill, M.A., Dickson, M.L. (1999). Till geochemistry of the Nepisiguit Falls map area (NTS 21 P/05), Gloucester and Northumberland counties, northern New Brunswick. New Brunswick Department of Natural Resources and Energy, Minerals and Energy Division, Open File Report 99-10, 108 p. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1989-2008 Quaternary mapping and till sampling project, northern New Brunswick, 1989-2009 (more)
2 2007-2009 New Brunswick Data Levelling Project (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
47.25° 47.5° -66° -65.625°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers the western two-thirds of NTS 21P/5 the Nepisiguit Falls map area, northern New Brunswick.  It includes parts of Gloucester and Northumberland Counties.  Most of the eastern part of the area is bounded by a north-south railway line.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Till

Nouveau-Brunswick

1996

Levé d’échantillonnage du till, 21P/5 du SNRC, nord du Nouveau-Brunswick, 1996.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)




Description du levé


En 1996, 202 échantillons de till ont été recueillis dans les deux tiers (partie ouest) de la région de la carte Nepisiguit Falls, dans le nord du Nouveau-Brunswick. Ces échantillons ont permis de combler les vides d’un levé régional de la Commission géologique du Canada effectué dans la région (DP 2236 de la CGC).  Le till de fond a été échantillonné dans les sites d’échantillonnage relevés sur une carte (à des intervalles de 2 km) dans la mesure du possible, et au point le plus proche en présence d’une tourbière, d’un cours d’eau ou d’un affleurement rocheux étendu. Dans la partie centrale de la région, on a prélevé du sable et du limon glaciomarins et glaciolacustres dans plusieurs fosses, afin de vérifier la réponse géochimique de ces sédiments. Les données sont publiées dans le dossier public 99-10 du ministère des Ressources naturelles et de l’Énergie du Nouveau-Brunswick.

Description de données:

Rapport imprimé, avec disquette de données.

Quantités analysées:

Dans la fraction <0,063 mm, dosage du Au et de 34 autres éléments par INAA; dosage d’un total de 51 principaux éléments et éléments traces par une combinaison d’ICP-ES (après digestion dans les acides nitrique, perchlorique et fluorhydrique suivie d’une fusion au borate de lithium) et d’ICP-MS.

Cartes géochimiques disponibles:

Aucune.

Procédure d’échantillonnage

En chaque site on prélevait approximativement 5 kg de till de fond et 75 cailloux (fraction granulométrique >1 cm) du till dans des fosses creusées à la main (profondeur de 0,5 à 1,0 m).

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Parkhill, M.A., Dickson, M.L. (1999). Till geochemistry of the Nepisiguit Falls map area (NTS 21 P/05), Gloucester and Northumberland counties, northern New Brunswick. New Brunswick Department of Natural Resources and Energy, Minerals and Energy Division, Open File Report 99-10, 108 p. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1989-2008 Projet de cartographie du Quaternaire et d’échantillonnage du till, dans le nord du Nouveau-Brunswick exécuté entre 1989 et 2008 (détails)
2 2007-2009 Projet nivellement de données du Nouveau-Brunswick (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
47.25° 47.5° -66° -65.625°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre le deux tiers ouest de 21P/5 (Nepisiguit Falls) du SNRC, au nord du Nouveau-Brunswick.  Il inclut des parties des comtés Gloucester et Northumberland.  La plupart de la partie est de la région est délimité par une voie ferrée qui s'étend nord-sud.

Mots-clés


Date de modification