Survey Metadata

Till

British Columbia

1995

Till sampling survey, NTS 93L/16, 93M/01, Babine Porphyry Belt, Nechako Plateau, central British Columbia, 1995.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



External Links

Index Link
1
BC Geological Survey Publications Catalogue ( LinkID=741 more)
Stumpf et al.’s paper in BC Geological Fieldwork 1995

Survey Description


In 1995, detailed drift exploration studies were undertaken on five porphyry-related copper properties: Babs, Hearne Hill, Lennac Lake, Bell Mine (Newman Peninsula) and Saddle Hill.  These properties are located in the Fulton Lake and Old Fort Mountain map areas, on the northern Nechako Plateau, central British Columbia.

A total of 173 sediment samples were collected from the five properties.  Basal till was the preferred sample medium.  Colluvium, supraglacial till, glaciofluvial and other sediments were also sampled. At Babs and Hearne, samples were collected along pre-cut grid lines at a spacing of 200 to 400 metres.  Elsewhere sampling was completed along roads accessible by truck or foot traverse at 250 to 1000 metre intervals.

A summary of the work can be found in British Columbia Geological Fieldwork 1995, Paper 1996-1.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Stumpf, A.J., Huntley, D.H., Broster, B.E., Levson, V.M. (1996). Babine Porphyry Belt Project: detailed drift exploration studies in the Old Fort Mountains (93/M/01) and Fulton Lake (93L/16) map areas, British Columbia. In Geological Fieldwork 1995, A summary of field activities and current research, B. Grant, J.M. Newell (eds). British Columbia Ministry of Energy, Mines and Petroleum Resources, Paper 1996-1, p.37-44. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1995-2000 Nechako NATMAP, central British Columbia, 1995-2000 (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
54.74° 55.226° -126.41° -126°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers part of NTS 93M/01(Old Fort Mountain), the Hearne Hill prospect on the north Nechako Plateau, central British Columbia.  It lies 2 km east of Morrison Lake and 32 km north of the village of Granisle.

  • Covers parts of NTS 93L/9 (Topley) and 93L/16 (Fulton Lake), the Lennac Lake prospect on the north Nechako Plateau, central British Columbia.  It lies approximately 20 km south-southwest of the village of Granisle.

  • Covers parts of NTS 93L/16 (Fulton Lake) and 93M/01 (Old Fort Mountain), the Bell Mine on the north Nechako Plateau, central British Columbia.  It is situated on Newman Peninsula on Babine Lake and is located 8 km north of the village of Granisle.

  • Covers part of NTS 93M/01(Old Fort Mountain), the Saddle Hill property on the north Nechako Plateau, central British Columbia.  It is located 36 km north of the village of Granisle.

  • Covers part of NTS 93L/16 (Fulton Lake). the Babs property on the north Nechako Plateau, central British Columbia.  It is located on the east side of Babine Lake, 6 km southeast of the Granisle Mine.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Till

Colombie-Britannique

1995

Levé d’échantillonnage du till, 93L/16, 93M/01 du SNRC, Babine Porphyry Belt, Nechako Plateau, centre de la Colombie-Britannique, 1995.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Liens externes

Index Lien
1
Catalogue des publications de la Commission géologique de la C.-B. ( LinkID=741 détails)
Rapport de Stumpf et al. dans BC Geological Fieldwork 1995

Description du levé


En 1995, des études d'exploration détaillées de dépôts glaciaires ont été entreprises dans cinq propriétés associées au cuivre porphyrique: Babs, Hearne Hill, Lennac Lake, Mine Bell (Newman péninsule) et Saddle Hill. Ces propriétés sont situées dans les régions des cartes Fulton Lake et Old Fort Mountain, au nord du Plateau Nechako, centre de la Colombie-Britannique.

Un total de 173 échantillons de sédiments ont été recueillis dans les cinq propriétés. Le till de fond était le milieu d'échantillonnage privilégié. Colluvions, tills supraglaciaires, sédiments fluvioglaciaires et autres, ont également été échantillonnés. Au Babs et Hearne, les échantillons ont été recueillis le long de lignes d'une grille pré-coupée à une distance de 200 à 400 mètres. Dans les autres régions, l'échantillonnage a été complété le long des routes accessibles par camion ou  à pied  de 250 à 1000 mètres d'intervalle.

On retrouve un résumé de ce travail dans l'étude 1996-1, Geological Fieldwork 1995 de la Colombie-Britannique.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Stumpf, A.J., Huntley, D.H., Broster, B.E., Levson, V.M. (1996). Babine Porphyry Belt Project: detailed drift exploration studies in the Old Fort Mountains (93/M/01) and Fulton Lake (93L/16) map areas, British Columbia. In Geological Fieldwork 1995, A summary of field activities and current research, B. Grant, J.M. Newell (eds). British Columbia Ministry of Energy, Mines and Petroleum Resources, Paper 1996-1, p.37-44. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1995-2000 Projet CARTNAT Nechako, centre de la Colombie-Britannique, 1995 à 2000 (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
54.74° 55.226° -126.41° -126°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre une partie de 93M/01(Old Fort Mountain) du SNRC, la zone prometteuse de Hearne Hill dans la partie nord de Nechako Plateau, au centre de la Colombie-Britannique.  Il se trouve 20 km au sud/sud-ouest du village de Granisle.

  • Couvre des parties de 93L/9 (Topley) et 93L/16 (Fulton Lake) du SNRC, la zone prometteuse de Lennac Lake dans la partie nord de Nechako Plateau, au centre de la Colombie-Britannique.  Il se trouve à environ 2 km à l'est de Morrison Lake et 32 km au nord du village de Granisle.

  • Couvre des parties de 93L/16 (Fulton Lake) et 93M/01 (Old Fort Mountain) du SNRC. la région de Bell Mine, dans la partie nord de Nechako Plateau, au centre de la Colombie-Britannique.  Il est situé sur Newman Peninsula de Babine Lake, et se trouve 8 km au nord du village de Granisle.

  • Couvre une partie de 93M/1 (Old Fort Mountain) du SNRC, la propriété de Saddle Hill, dans la partie nord de Nechako Plateau, au centre de la Colombie-Britannique.   Il est situé 36 km au nord du village de Granisle.

  • Couvre une partie de 93L/16 (Fulton Lake) du SNRC. la propriété de Babs dans la partie nord de Nechako Plateau, au centre de la Colombie-Britannique.  Il est situé au côté est de Babine Lake, 6 km au sud-est de Granisle Mine.

Mots-clés


Date de modification