Survey Metadata

Soil, Till

British Columbia

1991

Soil sampling, NTS 94E/2, 94D/10, Kemess area, north central British Columbia, 1991.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


In 1991, a geochemical orientation survey was carried out at the Kemess South porphyry copper-gold deposit.  Twenty-eight 1 kg samples of soil, saprolite or rock were collected from 5 profiles ranging from 1 to 3 metres in depth along an east-west traverse across the deposit.  Four of the profiles were developed on mineralized bedrock and one profile sampled a thick unit of till.  At each location, B-horizon, till, saprolite or rock was sampled at regular intervals down profile, or on either side of significant physical changes in the profile.  Two field duplicates were taken.  The data are published in British Columbia Ministry of Energy, Mines and Petroleum Resources Paper 1992-1, Geological Fieldwork 1991.

Data Description:

Paper report, data lists included.

Quantities Analysed:

0.063-.177 mm fractions digested with HClO4-HNO3-HF and analyzed for Cu by AAS and for Al, Fe, and Mo by ICP-AES and Au by INAA.  <0.063 mm fraction also analyzed for Cu by AAS after sequential partial extractions performed in the following order: CH3COONH4; HCl and aqua regia (2HCl:1HNO3).

Geochem Maps Available:

Diagrams show distribution of elements in soil profiles.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Sibbick, S.J., Rebagliati, C.M., Copeland, D.J., Lett, R.E. (1992). Soil geochemistry of the Kemess South porphyry gold copper deposit (94E/ 2E). In Geological Fieldwork 1991, A summary of field activities and current research, B. Grant and J.M. Newell (ed.). British Columbia Ministry of Energy, Mines and Petroleum Resources, Paper 1992-1, p. 349-361. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1991-1992 Kemess South till sampling, British Columbia, 1991 (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
56.99° 57.01° -126.76° -126.73°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers parts of NTS 94E/2 (Attycelley Creek) and 94D/10 (Thorne Lake) , the Kemess South deposit area, north central British Columbia.  It is located approximately 1 km north of Kemess Creek.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Sol, Till

Colombie-Britannique

1991

Échantillonnage du sol, 94E/2 et 94D/10 du SNRC, région de Kemess, centre nord de la Colombie-Britannique, 1991.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


En 1991, un levé géochimique d’orientation a été exécuté au gisement porphyrique de cuivre-or de Kemess South. Vingt-huit échantillons de 1 kg de sol, de saprolithe ou de roche ont été recueillis dans 5 profils, variant en profondeur de 1 à 3 mètres, le long d’un cheminement est-ouest traversant le gisement. Quatre des profils se sont développés sur un substratum rocheux minéralisé, alors que l’autre profil échantillonné montrait une épaisse couche de till. En chaque emplacement, l’horizon B, le till, le saprolithe ou la roche ont été échantillonnés à des intervalles réguliers, en descendant dans le profil, ou de part et d’autre de changements physiques notables dans le profil. Deux duplicatas de terrain ont été prélevés. Les données sont publiées dans British Columbia Ministry of Energy, Mines and Petroleum Resources Paper 1992-1, Geological Fieldwork 1991.

Description de données:

Rapport imprimé avec listes de données.

Quantités analysées:

Dans la fraction 0,063 à 0,177 mm, dosage du Cu par AAS après digestion dans HClO4-HNO3-HF, dosage du Al, du Fe et du du Mo par ICP-AES et dosage du Au par INAA. Dans la fraction <0,063 mm, dosage également du Cu par AAS après des extractions séquentielles partielles effectuées dans l’ordre suivant : CH3COONH4, HCl et eau régale (2HCl/1HNO3).

Cartes géochimiques disponibles:

Diagrammes montrant la distribution d’éléments dans des profiles pédologiques.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Sibbick, S.J., Rebagliati, C.M., Copeland, D.J., Lett, R.E. (1992). Soil geochemistry of the Kemess South porphyry gold copper deposit (94E/ 2E). In Geological Fieldwork 1991, A summary of field activities and current research, B. Grant and J.M. Newell (ed.). British Columbia Ministry of Energy, Mines and Petroleum Resources, Paper 1992-1, p. 349-361. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1991-1992 Échantillonnage du till, Kemess South, Colombie-Britannique, 1991 (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
56.99° 57.01° -126.76° -126.73°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre des parties de 94E/2 (Attycelley Creek) et 94D/10 (Thorne Lake) du SNRC, dans la région du gisement Kemess South, au nord-central de la Colombie-Britannique.  Il est situé à environ 1 km au nord de Kemess Creek.

Mots-clés


Date de modification