Survey Metadata

NGR lake

British Columbia

1996

BC RGS lake sediment and water survey, NTS 94M, 104P, northern Kechika Trough, British Columbia, 1996.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)




Survey Description


Helicopter-supported sample collection was carried out during July of 1996 in the North Gataga survey area, northern Kechika Trough, British Columbia.  A sediment sample and a water sample were collected at each site using a float-equipped Bell 206 helicopter.  A total of 471 lake sediment and water samples were collected from 445 sites at an average sample site density of 1 site per 11.2 km2.

Sediments were sampled using a Hornbrook-type torpedo sampler and samples placed in large Kraft paper bags.  Some departures from standard national Geochemical Reconnaissance (NGR) sampling strategies were incorporated particularly pertaining to overall site density and the number of sites sampled in each lake.  First, every lake in the survey area was sampled rather than sampling only a selection of lakes at a fixed density.  Secondly, centre-lake sediment samples were collected following standard NGR procedure, but sediment from the centres of all major known or inferred sub-basins was also collected.

The data are published in BC Open File 1997-15/GSC Open File 3499.

An additional 250 mL lake water sample was also collected for more extensive multi-element ICP-MS analysis.  These samples were collected at every second sediment site for a total of 235 sites at an average density of approximately one site per 21.3 km2.  These supplementary water data are published in BC Open File 1999-6/GSC Open File 3704.

This survey was carried out using National Geochemical Reconnaissance (NGR) protocols.

Sampling Procedure

Lake water samples were collected in 250 mL Nalgene bottles using a custom-designed sampling apparatus.  Waters were sampled from approximately 15 cm below the lake surface and precautions were taken to minimize suspended solids.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Cook, S.J., Jackaman, W., Friske, P.W.B., Day, S.J., Coneys, A.M., Ferri, F. (1997). Regional lake sediment and water geochemistry of the northern Kechika Trough, British Columbia (NTS 94M/2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 12; 104P/8, 9, 10, 15, 16). Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 3499/British Columbia Geological Survey Open File 1997-15. (more)
2 Cook, S.J., Jackaman, W., Friske, P.W., Day, S.J., Hall, G.E.M., Coneys, A.M. (1999). Geochemistry of alkaline lake waters of the Northern Kechika Trough, British Columbia (94M/2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 12; 104P/8, 9, 10, 15, 16). Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 3704/British Columbia Geological Survey Open File 1999-6. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1996-1999 North Gataga Project. Northern Kechika Trough, British Columbia lake sediment and water survey carried out in 1996 (more)

Downloadable Files

Index Description Size (bytes)
1
Diskette to accompany GSC Open File 3499 ( FileID=308 download)
This ZIP file contains a copy of the data diskette originally released with GSC Open File 3499.
55035

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
59° 60° -128.67° -126.75°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers all or part of eleven 1:50,000 map sheets in the Rabbit River (NTS 94M) and McDame (NTS 104P) areas of northern British Columbia.  It is bounded in the southwest by the Rocky Mountain Trench and the Cassiar Mountains, and to the north by the BC-YT border.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

PNRG lac

Colombie-Britannique

1996

Levé géochimique régional de sédiments lacustres et d’eaux, 94M, 104P du SNRC, cuvette de Kechika (nord), Colombie-Britannique, 1996.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)




Description du levé


Durant le mois de juillet 1996, des échantillons de sédiments lacustres et d’eaux ont été prélevés, à l'aide d’un hélicoptère, dans la région North Gataga, Kechika Trough, Colombie-Britannique.  A chaque site, des échantillons de sédiments et d’eaux ont été recueillis en utilisant un hélicoptère Bell 206 muni de flotteurs. Au total, 471 échantillons de sédiments lacustres et d’eaux ont été recueillis en 445 sites, dans une zone comptant en moyenne un site d’échantillonnage par 11.2 km2.

Les sédiments ont été prélevés avec une sonde fusiforme du type Hornbrook et conservés dans de grands sacs de papier kraft. Des dérogations par rapport aux stratégies d’échantillonnage normalisées du programme national de reconnaissance géochimique se sont parfois avérés nécessaires, particulièrement en ce qui concerne la densité totale des sites d’échantillonnage et leurs nombres dans chaque lac. D’une part, des échantillons ont été prélevés dans tous les lacs de la zone du levé plutôt que dans certains d’entre eux, suivant une densité de sites prédéterminés. D’autre part, les sédiments prélevés au milieu des lacs ont été recueillis d’après les stratégies susmentionnées, mais des sédiments ont également été prélevés au milieu de tous les principaux sous-bassins connus ou présumés.

Les données recueillies ont été publiées dans le dossier public no 1997-15 de la Colombie-Britannique et dans le dossier public no 3499 de la CGC.

Un échantillon supplémentaire d’eau de lac a été prélevé avec un récipient de 250 ml à tous les deux sites pour permettre une analyse plus approfondie de divers composants au moyen d’un ICP-MS. Au total, on comptait 235 sites d’échantillonnage dans une zone comptant en moyenne un site d’échantillonnage par 21.3 km2.  Ces données d’eaux supplémentaires sont publiées dans les dossiers publics 3704 de la Commission géologique du Canada et 1999-6 de la Colombie-Britannique.

Ce levé a été réalisé en utilisant des protocoles du Programme nationale de la reconnaissance géochimique (PNRG).

Procédure d’échantillonnage

Les échantillons d’eau de lac ont été prélevés avec des récipients Nalgene de 250 ml, au moyen d’un dispositif d’échantillonnage conçu à cette fin, à environ 15 cm sous la surface et en s’efforçant de recueillir le moins possible de solides en suspension.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Cook, S.J., Jackaman, W., Friske, P.W.B., Day, S.J., Coneys, A.M., Ferri, F. (1997). Regional lake sediment and water geochemistry of the northern Kechika Trough, British Columbia (NTS 94M/2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 12; 104P/8, 9, 10, 15, 16). Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 3499/British Columbia Geological Survey Open File 1997-15. (détails)
2 Cook, S.J., Jackaman, W., Friske, P.W., Day, S.J., Hall, G.E.M., Coneys, A.M. (1999). Geochemistry of alkaline lake waters of the Northern Kechika Trough, British Columbia (94M/2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 12; 104P/8, 9, 10, 15, 16). Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 3704/British Columbia Geological Survey Open File 1999-6. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1996-1999 Projet North Gataga. Levé de l’eau et de sédiments lacustres dans le nord de la dépression de Kéchika, en Colombie-Britannique, exécuté en 1996. (détails)

Fichiers téléchargeables

Index Description Size (bytes)
1
Disquette accompagnant le dossier public 3499 de la CGC. ( FileID=308 télécharger)
Ce fichier auto-décompactable contient une copie de la disquette des données initialement publiée avec le dossier public 3499 de la CGC.
55035

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
59° 60° -128.67° -126.75°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre la totalité ou des parties d'onze 1:50,000 feuilles de carte dans les régions de Rabbit River (94M du SNRC) et McDame (104P du SNRC) au nord de la Colombie-Britannique.  Il est délimité au sud-ouest par Rocky Mountain Trench et Cassiar Mountains, et au nord par la frontière de la C.-B. et du Yukon.

Mots-clés


Date de modification