Survey Metadata

NGR lake

British Columbia

1995

BC RGS lake sediment and water survey, NTS 93K/9, 10, 15, 16, northern Interior Plateau, British Columbia, 1995.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


Helicopter-supported lake sediment and water sample collection was carried out during October 4-9, 1995 in the Pinchi Lake area.  Samples were collected at each site using a float-equipped Bell 206 helicopter.  A total of 438 sediment and water samples were collected from 413 sites at an average site density of 1 site per 8.7 km2.

Sediments were sampled using a Hornbrook-type torpedo sampler and samples placed in large Kraft paper bags.  Some departures from standard national Geochemical Reconnaissance (NGR) sampling strategies were incorporated particularly pertaining to overall site density and the number of sites sampled in each lake.  First, every lake in the survey area was sampled rather than sampling only a selection of lakes at a fixed density.  Secondly, centre-lake sediment samples were collected following standard NGR procedure, but sediment from the centres of all major known or inferred sub-basins was also collected.

The data are published in BC Open File 1996-15/GSC Open File 3305.

An additional 250 mL lake water sample was also collected at every second site for more extensive multi-element ICP-MS analysis.  A total of 217 sites were sampled; data will be released at a later date.

This survey was carried out using National Geochemical Reconnaissance (NGR) protocols.

Sampling Procedure

Lake water samples were collected in 250 mL Nalgene bottles using a custom-designed sampling apparatus.  Waters were sampled from approximately 15 cm below the lake surface and precautions were taken to minimize suspended solids.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Cook, S.J., Jackaman, W., McCurdy, M.W., Day, S.J., Friske, P.W. (1997). Regional lake sediment and water geochemistry of part of the Fort Fraser map area, British Columbia (NTS 93K/9, 10, 15 and 16). Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 3305/British Columbia Geological Survey Open File 1996-15. (more)
2 Jackaman, W. (2008). Regional lake sediment and water geochemical data, northernFraser Basin, centralBritish Columbia (parts ofNTS 93G, H, J, K, N & O). Geoscience BC, Report 2008-5. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1993-1996 Interior Plateau, Project/Nechako NATMAP Project, British Columbia (more)

Downloadable Files

Index Description Size (bytes)
1
Diskette to accompany GSC Open File 3305 ( FileID=294 download)
This ZIP file contains a copy of the data diskette originally released with GSC Open File 3305.
49583

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
54.5° 55° -125° -124°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers NTS 93K/9 (Pinchi Lake), 93K/10 (Stuart Lake), 93K/15 (Inzana Lake) and 93K/16 (Tezzeron Creek) in the northern Interior Plateau of British Columbia.  It is bounded by latitudes 54.5° and 55° N and longitudes 124° and 125° W.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

PNRG lac

Colombie-Britannique

1995

Levé géochimique régional de sédiments lacustres et d’eaux, 93K/9, 10, 15, 16 du SNRC, Plateau Intérieur (nord), Colombie-Britannique, 1995.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


Du 4 au 9 octobre 1995, des échantillons de sédiments lacustres et d’eaux ont été prélevés, à l'aide  d’un hélicoptère Bell 206 muni de flotteurs, dans la région du lac Pinchi. Au total, 438 échantillons de sédiments et d’eaux ont été recueillis en 413 sites, dans une zone comptant en moyenne un site d’échantillonnage par 8,7 km2.

Les sédiments ont été prélevés avec une sonde fusiforme du type Hornbrook et conservés dans de grands sacs de papier kraft. Des dérogations par rapport aux stratégies d’échantillonnage normalisées du programme Reconnaissance nationale géochimique (RNG) se sont parfois avérés nécessaires, particulièrement en ce qui concerne la densité totale des sites d’échantillonnage et leurs nombres dans chaque lac. D’une part, des échantillons ont été prélevés dans tous les lacs de la zone du levé plutôt que dans certains d’entre eux, suivant une densité de sites prédéterminés. D’autre part, les sédiments prélevés au milieu des lacs ont été recueillis d’après les stratégies susmentionnées, mais des sédiments ont également été prélevés au milieu de tous les principaux sous-bassins connus ou présumés.

Les données recueillies ont été publiées dans le dossier public no 1996-15 de la Colombie-Britannique et dans le dossier public no 3305 de la CGC.

Un échantillon supplémentaire d’eau de lac a été prélevé avec un récipient de 250 ml, à tous les deux sites pour permettre une analyse plus approfondie des  divers composants  au moyen d’un ICP-MS. Au total, on comptait 217 sites d’échantillonnage; les données recueillies seront publiées ultérieurement.

Ce levé a été réalisé en utilisant des protocoles du Programme nationale de la reconnaissance géochimique (PNRG).

Procédure d’échantillonnage

Les échantillons d’eau de lac ont été prélevés avec des récipients Nalgene de 250 ml, au moyen d’un dispositif d’échantillonnage conçu à cette fin, à environ 15 cm sous la surface et en s’efforçant de recueillir le moins possible de solides en suspension.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Cook, S.J., Jackaman, W., McCurdy, M.W., Day, S.J., Friske, P.W. (1997). Regional lake sediment and water geochemistry of part of the Fort Fraser map area, British Columbia (NTS 93K/9, 10, 15 and 16). Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 3305/British Columbia Geological Survey Open File 1996-15. (détails)
2 Jackaman, W. (2008). Regional lake sediment and water geochemical data, northernFraser Basin, centralBritish Columbia (parts ofNTS 93G, H, J, K, N & O). Geoscience BC, Report 2008-5. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1993-1996 Projet du plateau intérieur, projet CARTNAT Nechako, Colombie-Britannique. (détails)

Fichiers téléchargeables

Index Description Size (bytes)
1
Disquette accompagnant le dossier public 3305 de la CGC. ( FileID=294 télécharger)
Ce fichier auto-décompactable contient une copie de la disquette des données initialement publiée avec le dossier public 3305 de la CGC.
49583

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
54.5° 55° -125° -124°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre 93K/9 (Pinchi Lake), 93K/10 (Stuart Lake), 93K/15 (Inzana Lake) et 93K/16 (Tezzeron Creek) du SNRC, dans la partie nord de la région d'Interior Plateau de la Colombie-Britannique.  Il est délimité par les latitudes 54.5° et 55° N et par les longitudes 124° et 125° O.

Mots-clés


Date de modification