Survey Metadata

NGR lake

British Columbia

1993

BC RGS lake sediment and water survey; NTS 93F/2, 3, 6, 11, 12, 13, 14, northern Interior Plateau, British Columbia, 1993.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


Lake sediment and water samples were collected in a helicopter-supported survey in two areas in the Nechako map area, northern Interior Plateau, British Columbia:

Area and Date of Collection Total Number of Sediment and Water Samples Total Number of Sites Average Sampling Density

Fawnie

June 15-18, 1993

251 237

1 site per 8 km2

Ootsa

September 17-19, 1993

238 224

1 site per 7.4 km2

 

Sediments were sampled using a Hornbrook-type torpedo sampler and samples placed in large Kraft paper bags.  Some departures from standard national Geochemical Reconnaissance (NGR) sampling strategies were incorporated particularly pertaining to overall site density and the number of sites sampled in each lake.  First, every lake in the survey area was sampled rather than sampling only a selection of lakes at a fixed density.  Secondly, centre-lake sediment samples were collected following standard NGR procedure, but sediment from the centres of all major known or inferred sub-basins was also collected.

The data are published in BC Open File 1994-19.

This survey was carried out using National Geochemical Reconnaissance (NGR) protocols.

Sampling Procedure

Lake water samples were collected in 250 mL Nalgene bottles using a custom-designed sampling apparatus.  Waters were sampled from approximately 15 cm below the lake surface and precautions were taken to minimize suspended solids.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Cook, S.J., Jackaman, W. (1994). Regional lake sediment and water geochemistry of part of the Nechako River map area (93F/2, 3; parts of 93F/6, 11, 12, 13, 14). B.C. Ministry of Energy, Mines and Petroleum Resources, B.C. Geological Survey Branch, Open File 1994-19. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1993-1996 Interior Plateau, Project/Nechako NATMAP Project, British Columbia (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
53° 54° -125.93° -124.5°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers NTS 93F/2 (Tsacha Lake) and /3 (Fawnie Creek) in the  northern Interior Plateau of British Columbia.  It is bounded by latitudes 53° and 53.25° N and longitudes 124.5° and 125.5° W.

  • Covers parts of NTS 93F/6 (Natalkuz Lake), /11 (Cheslatta Lake), /12 (Marilla Lake), /13 (Takysie Lake), /14 (Knapp Lake) in the northern Interior Plateau of British Columbia.  It is bounded to the southwest by the Nechako Reservoir.  François Lake is located just north of its northern edge.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

PNRG lac

Colombie-Britannique

1993

Levé géochimique régional de sédiments lacustres et d’eaux, 93F/2, 3, 6, 11, 12, 13, 14 du SNRC, Plateau Intérieur (nord), Colombie-Britannique, 1993.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


Des échantillonnages de sédiments lacustres et d’eaux ont été recueillis, à l'aide d’un hélicoptère dans deux régions de la carte Nechako, dans le plateau d'intérieur nord de la Colombie-Britannique:

 

Région et date d'échantillonnage Nombre d’échantillons de sédiments et d’eau Nombre de sites Densité d'échantillonnage moyen

Fawnie

le 15-18 juin, 1993

251 237

1 site par 8 km2

Ootsa

le 17-19 septembre, 1993

238 224

1 site par 7.4 km2

 

Les sédiments ont été prélevés avec une sonde fusiforme du type Hornbrook et conservés dans de grands sacs de papier kraft. Des dérogations par rapport aux stratégies d’échantillonnage normalisées du programme Reconnaissance nationale géochimique (RNG) se sont parfois avérés nécessaires, particulièrement en ce qui concerne la densité totale des sites d’échantillonnage et leurs nombres dans chaque lac. D’une part, des échantillons ont été prélevés dans tous les lacs de la zone du levé plutôt que dans certains d’entre eux, suivant une densité de sites prédéterminés. D’autre part, les sédiments prélevés au milieu des lacs ont été recueillis d’après les stratégies susmentionnées, mais des sédiments ont également été prélevés au milieu de tous les principaux sous-bassins connus ou présumés.

Les données sont publiées dans le dossier public no 1994-19 de la Colombie-Britannique.

Ce levé a été réalisé en utilisant des protocoles du Programme nationale de la reconnaissance géochimique (PNRG).

Procédure d’échantillonnage

Les échantillons d’eau de lac ont été prélevés avec des récipients Nalgene de 250 ml, au moyen d’un dispositif d’échantillonnage conçu à cette fin, à environ 15 cm sous la surface et en s’efforçant de recueillir le moins possible de solides en suspension.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Cook, S.J., Jackaman, W. (1994). Regional lake sediment and water geochemistry of part of the Nechako River map area (93F/2, 3; parts of 93F/6, 11, 12, 13, 14). B.C. Ministry of Energy, Mines and Petroleum Resources, B.C. Geological Survey Branch, Open File 1994-19. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1993-1996 Projet du plateau intérieur, projet CARTNAT Nechako, Colombie-Britannique. (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
53° 54° -125.93° -124.5°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre 93F/2 (Tsacha Lake) et /3 (Fawnie Creek) du SNRC dans la partie nord de la région d'Interior Plateau de la Colombie-Britannique.  Il est délimité par les latitudes 53° et 53.25° N et par les longitudes 124.5° et 125.5° O.

  • Couvre des parties de 93F/6 (Natalkuz Lake), /11 (Cheslatta Lake), /12 (Marilla Lake), /13 (Takysie Lake) et /14 (Knapp Lake) du SNRC, dans la partie nord de la région d'Interior Plateau de la Colombie-Britannique.  Il est délimité au sud-ouest par Nechako Reservoir.  François Lake se trouve juste au nord du bord de nord de la zone d'étude.

Mots-clés


Date de modification