Survey Metadata

NGR stream

British Columbia

1996

BC RGS stream sediment and water survey, NTS 94D, north central British Columbia, 1996.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)




External Links

Index Link
1
BC EMPR Regional Geochemistry ( LinkID=675 more)
Metadata page for BC Regional Geochemical Survey RGS 45 (NTS 94D). Includes links to related data.

Survey Description


Helicopter-supported sample collection was carried out during the summer of 1996 in the McConnell Creek map area, British Columbia.  A total of 1034 stream sediment and 1034 stream water samples were collected from 976 sites.  The average sample site density was 1 site per 13 km2 over the 13,000 square kilometre survey area.  Field duplicate samples were collected in each analytical block of twenty samples.  Samples were not collected in Tatlatui Provincial Park.  The data are published in British Columbia Regional Geochemical Survey RGS 45.

This survey was carried out using National Geochemical Reconnaissance (NGR) protocols.

Sampling Procedure

Primary and secondary drainage basins with catchment areas of less than 10 km2 were sampled.  Sediment samples weighing 1 to 2 kg were obtained from the active stream channel.  Samples were primarily fine-grained material mixed with varying amounts of coarse sand, gravel and organic material.  Surface water samples were collected in 250 mL bottles and suspended solids were excluded where possible.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Jackaman, W. (1997). British Columbia regional geochemical survey, NTS 94D - McConnell Creek; stream sediment and water geochemical data. B.C. Ministry of Employment and Investment, Geological Survey Branch, BC RGS 45. (more)
2 Lett, R., Jackaman, W. (2003). Re-analysis of regional stream sediment survey samples from the Iskut River area (NTS 104B and G). British Columbia Ministry of Energy and Mines, Mining and Minerals Division, GeoFile 2003-20. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1996-1997 North central British Columbia 1996 stream sediment and water survey (more)
2 2002-2008 British Columbia ICP-MS and ICP-ES reanalysis project for stream sediments, 2002-2008. (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
56° 57° -128° -126°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers most of NTS 94D (McConnell Creek) in north central British Columbia except part of the northwest corner where it is bounded by Tatlatui Provincial Park.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

PNRG ruisseau

Colombie-Britannique

1996

Levé géochimique régional de sédiments et d’eaux fluviatiles, 94D du SNRC, Colombie-Britannique (centre-nord), 1996.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)




Liens externes

Index Lien
1
Géochimie régionale d'EMPR de la C.-B. ( LinkID=675 détails)
Page de métadonnées pour RGS 45 de la C.-B. (94D du SNRC).  Comprend des liens aux données reliées.

Description du levé


Des échantillonnages ont été effectués, à l'aide d’un hélicoptère, au cours de l’été 1996, dans la région de la carte McConnell Creek, Colombie-Britannique. Au total, 1034 échantillons de sédiments fluviatiles et 1034 échantillons d’eaux ont été prélevés en  976 sites. En moyenne, on comptait un site d’échantillonnage par 13 km2, dans la zone de levé de 13 000 km2.  Des duplicatas ont été prélevés pour chaque bloc de 20 échantillons. Aucun échantillonnage n’a été effectué dans le Tatlatui Provincial Park. Les données sont publiées dans le rapport intitulé «British Columbia Regional Geochemical Survey RGS 45».

Ce levé a été réalisé en utilisant des protocoles du Programme nationale de la reconnaissance géochimique (PNRG).

Procédure d’échantillonnage

Des échantillonnages ont eu lieu dans des bassins hydrographiques primaires et secondaires d’une superficie inférieure à 10 km2. Des échantillons de sédiments de 1 à 2 kg ont été prélevés dans le chenal actif de cours d’eau. Les échantillons se composaient principalement de matériaux mixtes à grain fin comportant des quantités variables de gravier et de sable à grain grossier, de sédiments glaciaires et de matière organique. Des échantillons d’eau de surface ont été prélevés avec des récipients de 250 ml en évitant, dans la mesure du possible, de recueillir des solides en suspension.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Jackaman, W. (1997). British Columbia regional geochemical survey, NTS 94D - McConnell Creek; stream sediment and water geochemical data. B.C. Ministry of Employment and Investment, Geological Survey Branch, BC RGS 45. (détails)
2 Lett, R., Jackaman, W. (2003). Re-analysis of regional stream sediment survey samples from the Iskut River area (NTS 104B and G). British Columbia Ministry of Energy and Mines, Mining and Minerals Division, GeoFile 2003-20. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1996-1997 Levé de sédiment et de l’eau fluviatile dans le centre nord de la Colombie-Britannique exécuté en 1996 (détails)
2 2002-2008 Projet des nouvelles analyses de ICP-MS et ICP-ES des sédiments lacustres, Colombie-Britannique, 2002-2008. (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
56° 57° -128° -126°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre la plupart de 94D (McConnell Creek) du SNRC dans la partie nord-centrale de la Colombie Britannique sauf une partie du coin nord-ouest où il est délimité par Tatlatui Provincial Park.

Mots-clés


Date de modification