Survey Metadata

Till

British Columbia

1991

Till sampling survey, NTS 93N/1, 93O/4, north central British Columbia, 1991.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


In 1991, 121 till samples including field duplicates were collected from 108 hand-dug pits with in a 150 square kilometre area in the Mount Milligan region of north central British Columbia.  This survey was done in conjunction with a biogeochemical survey in the same region.  The till data are published in GSC Open File 3291/BC Geological Survey Open File 1996-22.  The data can also be found in Geological Survey of Canada Open File 3273/British Columbia Geological Survey Open File 1996-19, a digital suite of geoscience information.

Data Description:

Paper report; data list on diskette (ASCII, dBase and Excel 5.0).

Quantities Analysed:

<0.063 mm fraction by INAA for 30 elements and by ICP-AES after aqua regia digestion for 30 elements.

Geochem Maps Available:

Proportional symbol maps showing dispersal of elements.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Sibbick, S.J., Kerr, D.E. (1995). Till geochemistry of the Mount Milligan area, north-central British Columbia; recommendations for drift exploration for porphyry copper-gold mineralization. In Drift Exploration in the Canadian Cordillera, P.T. Bobrowsky, S.J. Sibbick, J.M. Newell, P.F. Matysek (ed.). British Columbia Ministry of Energy, Mines and Petroleum Resources; Paper no. 1995-2; pages 167-180 (Geological Survey of Canada Cont.# 25694) (more)
2 Williams, S. (compiler) (1996). Quesnel Trough: a digital suite of geoscience information. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 3273/British Columbia Geological Survey, Open File 1996-19. (more)
3 Sibbick, S.J., Balma, R.G., Dunn, C.E. (1997). Till geochemistry of the Mount Milligan area (parts of 93N/1 and 93O/4). Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 3291/British Columbia Geological Survey Branch Open File 1996-22. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1991-1997 North central British Columbia till sampling survey carried out in 1991 and vegetation surveys carried out in 1991 and 1995 (more)

Downloadable Files

Index Description Size (bytes)
1
Copy of CD-ROM for GSC Open File 3273 ( FileID=30 download)
This archive contains all of the files that are on the CD.  A README.TXT file for both PC and UNIX is located at the root directory.  The main documentation can be accessed through the file, QUESNEL.PDF in the GETSTART\DOCUMENT directory.  Data contained on the CD can also be imported into variety of GIS, CAD and Desktop Publishing applications.  SurView, a viewing application that provides direct access to the data for those without a commercial GIS, is also included (run-time version) on the CD.
84414123

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
55.04° 55.24° -124.16° -123.72°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers parts of NTS 93N/1, 93O/4, Mount Milligan area in north central British Columbia.  The town of Mackenzie is located approximately 60 km northeast of the centre of the study area.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Till

Colombie-Britannique

1991

Levé d’échantillonnage du till, 93N/1, 93O/4 du SNRC, centre-nord de la Colombie-Britannique, début des années 90.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


En 1991, 121 échantillons de till y compris des réplicats de terrain ont été recueillis dans 108 fosses creusées à la main dans une zone de 150 km dans la région de Mount Milligan, centre-nord de la Colombie-Britannique.  Ce levé a été menée en collaboration avec une étude biogéochimique dans la même région.  Les données de till sont publiées dans le dossier public 3291 de la Commission géologique du Canada/British Columbia Geological Survey Open File 1996-22.  On peut également trouver les données dans le dossier public 3273 de la CGC/British Columbia Geological Survey Open File 1996-19, une compilation numérique de l'information géoscientifique.

Description de données:

Rapport imprimé; liste de données sur disquette (ASCII, dBase et Excel 5.0).

Quantités analysées:

Dans la fraction <0,063 mm dosage de 30 éléments par INAA et de 30 éléments par ICP-AES après digestion à l’eau régale.

Cartes géochimiques disponibles:

Cartes avec symboles proportionnels montrant la dispersion des éléments.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Sibbick, S.J., Kerr, D.E. (1995). Till geochemistry of the Mount Milligan area, north-central British Columbia; recommendations for drift exploration for porphyry copper-gold mineralization. In Drift Exploration in the Canadian Cordillera, P.T. Bobrowsky, S.J. Sibbick, J.M. Newell, P.F. Matysek (ed.). British Columbia Ministry of Energy, Mines and Petroleum Resources; Paper no. 1995-2; pages 167-180 (Geological Survey of Canada Cont.# 25694) (détails)
2 Williams, S. (compiler) (1996). Quesnel Trough: a digital suite of geoscience information. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 3273/British Columbia Geological Survey, Open File 1996-19. (détails)
3 Sibbick, S.J., Balma, R.G., Dunn, C.E. (1997). Till geochemistry of the Mount Milligan area (parts of 93N/1 and 93O/4). Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 3291/British Columbia Geological Survey Branch Open File 1996-22. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1991-1997 Levé d’échantillonnage du till dans le centre-nord de la Colombie-Britannique exécuté en 1991 et levés de la végétation exécuté en 1991 et 1995 (détails)

Fichiers téléchargeables

Index Description Size (bytes)
1
Copie du CD-ROM du dossier public 3273 de la CGC. ( FileID=30 télécharger)
Cette archive contient tous les fichiers qui se trouvent sur le CD-ROM. On peut trouver le fichier README.TXT pour PC et UNIX dans le répertoire racine.  On peut accéder la documentation principale avec le fichier QUESNEL.PDF dans le répertoire GETSTART\DOCUMENT.  Les données contenues sur le CD peuvent aussi être importées dans une variété des SIG, CAO et des applications de la microédition. SurView, une application de visualisation qui permet d'accéder directement aux données pour les sans un SIG commerciaux, est également incluse (version exécutable) sur le CD.
84414123

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
55.04° 55.24° -124.16° -123.72°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre des parties des 93N/1 et 93O/4 du SNRC, région du mont Milligan, centre-nord de la Colombie-Britannique.  La collectivité de Mackenzie est située à environ 60 km au nord-est du centre de la zone d'étude.

Mots-clés


Date de modification