Survey Metadata

Surface water

Newfoundland and Labrador

1991

Lake water sampling survey, NTS 1M, south central Newfoundland, 1991.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


In 1991, lake water samples were collected in the area north of Fortune Bay and east of Bay d’Espoir, southern Newfoundland.  A total of 136 samples were collected by helicopter from the centre of the lakes, including 12 pairs of site duplicates.  The survey was conducted over the same area as previous lake sediment surveys (Open Files NFLD/986 and NFLD/1002) although only 108 of the lakes were sampled for both media.

A summary of the work is found in Journal of Geochemical Exploration v. 49.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 McConnell, J.W., Finch, C., Hall, G.E.M., Davenport, P.H. (1993). Geochemical mapping employing active and overbank stream sediment, lake sediment and lake water in two areas of Newfoundland. In Geochemical Mapping, P.H. Davenport (ed.). Journal of Geochemical Exploration, v. 49, no. 1-2, p. 123-143. (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
47.62° 48° -55.99° -54.68°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers most of the north half of NTS 1M (Belleoram) in south central Newfoundland in the Bay d’Espoir-Fortune Bay area.  It is bounded to the north by 48° N latitude.  Gisborne Lake is located in the eastern part of the study area.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Eau de surface

Terre-Neuve et Labrador

1991

Levé d’échantillonnage de l’eau lacustre, 1M du SNRC, partie sud-centrale de la Terre-Neuve, 1991.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


En 1991, des échantillons d’eau lacustre ont été recueillis dans la région au nord de Fortune Bay et à l’est de Bay d’Espoir, au sud de la Terre-Neuve.  Un total de 136 échantillons a été recueilli à l’aide d’un hélicoptère du centre des lacs, y compris 12 paires de doublons de localisations.  Le levé a été effectué dans la même région de levés de sédiment lacustre précédents (dossiers publics NFLD/986 et NFLD/1002) même si seulement 108 des lacs ont été échantillonnés pour les deux types d’échantillons (sédiment et eau).

On peut trouver un résumé de ces travaux dans Journal of Geochemical Exploration v. 49.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 McConnell, J.W., Finch, C., Hall, G.E.M., Davenport, P.H. (1993). Geochemical mapping employing active and overbank stream sediment, lake sediment and lake water in two areas of Newfoundland. In Geochemical Mapping, P.H. Davenport (ed.). Journal of Geochemical Exploration, v. 49, no. 1-2, p. 123-143. (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
47.62° 48° -55.99° -54.68°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre la plupart de la moitié nord de 1M (Belleoram) du SNRC dans la partie sud-centrale de la Terre-Neuve dans la région de Bay d’Espoir-Fortune Bay.  Il est délimité au nord par latitude 48° N.  Gisborne Lake se trouve dans la partie est de la zone d’étude.

Mots-clés


Date de modification