Survey Metadata

Soil, Till, Surface water

Newfoundland and Labrador

1999

Soil, till and stream water sampling, NTS 13E/6, 7, 13K/5, central Labrador, 1999.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


A total of 418 soil and/or till samples were collected in 1999 in the Wilson Lake and Seal Lake areas, central Labrador.  Till sampling was conducted along lines oriented at approximately right angles to glacial flow.  Lines were located 1 km apart and samples collected every 200 m along the lines.  Wherever possible, C-horizon till was collected.  In some cases, only B- or B-C horizon material was available.  Hand dug pits averaged 60 to 70 cm in depth.  In all, 226 samples of C-horizon, 77 samples of BC-horizon and 115 samples of B-horizon were collected.

A total of 114 stream water samples were collected in 1999 from 111 sites in the Wilson Lake and Seal Lake areas, central Labrador.  Two clean 250 ml Nalgene bottles were filled at each site, generally from the center of the stream.  One bottle was reserved for pH and conductivity analyses, the other for trace metal analyses.  The waters for trace element samples were filtered using a 0.45 μm millipore filtration apparatus.

The data are published in Newfoundland and Labrador Department of Mines and Energy Open File LAB/1327.

Data Description:

Paper report with data on diskette.

Quantities Analysed:

<0.180 mm fraction of soil and till samples by INAA for a large suite of elements; by ICP-AES after HF-HClO4-HCl digestion for a large suite of elements; by AAS after HF-HClO4-HCl digestion for Cr and Mo; by AAS after HNO3 digestion for Ag; by fluoride-ion selective electrode after fusion with Na2CO3-KNO3 flux for F.

Stream waters filtered (0.45 μm) and acidified (HNO3) then analysed by ICP-ES for Ca, Fe, K, Mg, Mn, Na, Si, SO4; by ICP ultra sonic nebulizer for Al, Ba, Be, Co, Cr, Cu, Li, Mo, Ni, P, Sr, Ti, Y, Zn.

Geochem Maps Available:

Proportional dot maps showing concentration of elements in soil/till and stream water.

Other Analyses:

pH and conductivity.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 McConnell, J. (2001). Regional soil, till and stream-water surveys for base metals over lake-sediment anomalies in central Labrador (parts of NTS 13E/6 and 13K/5). Newfoundland Department of Mines and Energy, Open File LAB/1327, 39 p. with diskette. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1998-2001 Central Labrador lake sediment and water sampling, 1998, soil, till and stream water sampling, 1999. (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
53.3743° 54.3859° -63.0805° -61.5248°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers parts of NTS 13E/6 (Metchin River) and NTS 13E/7 (Wilson Lake) in the Wilson Lake area, central Labrador.  It is located approximately 5 km north of Wilson Lake.

  • Covers part of NTS 13K/5 (Wuchusk Lake) in the Seal Lake area, central Labrador.  It is located between Wuchusk Lake to the north and Seal Lake to the south.

  • Covers parts of NTS 13K/4 (Dorothy Lake) and 13K/5 (Wuchusk Lake) in the Seal Lake area, central Labrador.  It is located south of Whiskey Lake and north of Thomas River.  Seal Lake is located approximately 6 km to the north.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Sol, Till, Eau de surface

Terre-Neuve et Labrador

1999

Échantillonnage du sol, de sédiments de ruisseau et d’eau de cours d’eau, 13E/6 et 7 et 13K/5 du SNRC, centre du Labrador, 1999.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


Au total 418 échantillons de sol et/ou de till ont été recueillis en 1999 dans les régions des lacs Wilson et Seal du centre du Labrador. L’échantillonnage du till a été effectué suivant des lignes orientées approximativement à angle droit par rapport à la direction de l’écoulement glaciaire. Les lignes étaient espacées de 1 km et les échantillons étaient recueillis à tous les 200 m le long des lignes. Partout où cela était possible, du till de l’horizon C était recueilli. Dans certains cas, seuls des matériaux des horizons B ou B-C étaient disponibles. Les fosses de prélèvement creusées à la main étaient d’une profondeur de 60 à 70 cm. En tout, 226 échantillons de l’horizon C, 77 échantillons de l’horizon BC et 115 échantillons de l’horizon B ont été recueillis.

Au total 114 échantillons d’eaux de cours d’eau ont été prélevés en 111 sites en 1999 dans les régions des lacs Wilson et Seal du centre du Labrador. Deux bouteilles Nalgene propres de 250 ml étaient remplies en chaque site, généralement au centre du cours d’eau. Une bouteille servait à la mesure du pH et de la conductivité et l’autre aux dosages des métaux traces. Les échantillons d’eaux destinés au dosage des éléments traces étaient filtrés à l'aide d'un filtre 0,45 μm et d’un appareil de filtration Millipore.

Les données sont publiées dans le dossier public LAB/1327 du Department of Mines and Energy de la Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador.

Description de données:

Rapport imprimé avec données sur disquette.

Quantités analysées:

Dans la fraction <0,180 mm d’échantillons de sol et de till, dosage d’un grand ensemble d’éléments par INAA; dosage d’un grand ensemble d’éléments par ICP-AES après digestion dans HF-HClO4-HCl; dosage du Cr et du Mo par AAS après digestion dans HF-HClO4-HCl; dosage du Ag par AAS après digestion dans HNO3; dosage du F par électrode sélective d’ions fluorure après fusion avec un fondant de Na2CO3-KNO3.

Dans l’eau de cours d’eau filtrée (0,45 μm) et acidifiée (HNO3), dosage du Ca, du Fe, du K, du Mg, du Mn, du Na, du Si et du SO4 par ICP-ES; dosage du Al, du Ba, du Be, du Co, du Cr, du Cu, du Li, du Mo, du Ni, du P, du Sr, du Ti, du Y, du Zn par ICP après pulvérisation au nébuliseur ultrasonique.

Cartes géochimiques disponibles:

Cartes avec symboles proportionnels montrant les concentrations d’éléments dans le sol, le till et l’eau de ruisseau.

Autres analyses:

Détermination du pH et de la conductivité.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 McConnell, J. (2001). Regional soil, till and stream-water surveys for base metals over lake-sediment anomalies in central Labrador (parts of NTS 13E/6 and 13K/5). Newfoundland Department of Mines and Energy, Open File LAB/1327, 39 p. with diskette. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1998-2001 Échantillonnage des sédiments lacustres et de l’eau en 1998, ainsi que des sols, du till et de l’eau de cours d’eau en 1999, dans le centre du Labrador (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
53.3743° 54.3859° -63.0805° -61.5248°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre des parties de 13E/6 (Metchin River) et NTS 13E/7 (Wilson Lake) du SNRC dans la région de Wilson Lake, centre du Labrador.  Il est situé à environ 5 km au nord de Wilson Lake.

  • Couvre une partie de 13K/5 (Wuchusk Lake) du SNRC, dans la région de Seal Lake, centre du Labrador.  Il est situé entre Wuchusk Lake au nord et Seal Lake au sud.

  • Couvre des parties de 13K/4 (Dorothy Lake) et 13K/5 (Wuchusk Lake) du SNRC, dans la région de Seal Lake, centre du Labrador.  Il est situé au sud de Whisky Lake et au nord de Thomas River.  Seal Lake est situé approximativement 6 km au nord.

Mots-clés


Date de modification