Survey Metadata

Lake sediment

Newfoundland and Labrador

1998

Lake sediment sampling, NTS 13E/6, 7, 13M/8, 9, 13N, 5, 12, central Labrador, 1998.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


In 1998, lake sediment samples were collected from the Wilson Lake area and the Pants Lake Intrusive area, central Labrador in a high density lake sediment survey.  The centre of the lake or central basinal portion of the lake was sampled.  On some deep lakes (>25 m) no sample could be collected in lake centres and a sample from a shallower site closer to shore was obtained.  The data are published in Newfoundland and Labrador Department of Mines and Energy Open File LAB/1362.

Data Description:

Report and data on CD.

Quantities Analysed:

<0.180 mm fraction of lake sediment by ICP-ES after HF-HClO4-HCl digestion and by INAA for large suites of elements; by AAS after HNO3 digestion for Ag; by fluoride-ion specific electrode with digital ion analyzed after Na2CO3:KNO3 flux and fusion for F; by FA-ICP-MS after HNO3-HCl digestion for Pd, Pt.

Geochem Maps Available:

Proportional symbol maps showing distribution of selected elements in lake sediment.  Histograms of selected elements in lake sediment.

Other Analyses:

LOI.

Sampling Procedure

A weighted tubular sampler fitted with a nylon rope for retrieval was dropped from a float equipped helicopter.  Samples were stored in water resistant Kraft paper bags.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 McConnell, J.W. (2002). A pilot study of the distribution of platinum and palladium in lake sediment and soil in central Labrador (parts of NTS 13E, K, M, N). Newfoundland Department of Mines and Energy Open File LAB/1362, 31 p. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1995-2002 Multimedia sampling, central Labrador, 1995 - 1998 (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
53.332° 55.5489° -63.1419° -61.8532°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers parts of NTS 13E/6 (Metchin River) and 13E/ 7 (Wilson Lake), central Labrador.  The Trans Labrador Highway (Hwy 500) runs though the southwest part of the study area and the western half of Wilson Lake is located in the southeast part of the study area.

  • Covers parts of NTS 13M/8, 9 (both untitled) and 13N/5, 12 (both untitled), the Pants Lake intrusion area, central Labrador.  It is located just west of Sarah Lake.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Sédiment de lac

Terre-Neuve et Labrador

1998

Échantillonnage de sédiments lacustres, 13E/6 et 7, 13M/8 et 9 et 13N, 5 et 12 du SNRC, centre du Labrador, 1998.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


En 1998, des échantillons de sédiments lacustres ont été recueillis dans la région du lac Wilson et la zone de roches intrusives de Pants Lake, au centre du Labrador, dans le cadre d’un levé d’échantillonnage de haute densité des sédiments lacustres. Le centre des lacs, ou la partie centrale de bassin du lac, était échantillonné. Dans certains lacs profonds (>25 m), aucun échantillon n’a pu être prélevé au centre et on a recueilli un échantillon en un site moins profond plus près de la rive. Les données sont publiées dans le dossier public LAB/1362 du Department of Mines and Energy de la Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador.

Description de données:

Rapport et données sur CD.

Quantités analysées:

Dans la fraction <0,180 mm de sédiments lacustres, dosage de grands ensembles d’éléments par ICP-ES après digestion dans HF-HClO4-HCl; dosage du Ag par AAS après digestion dans HNO3; dosage du F par électrode sélective d’ions fluorure et analyse numérique des ions après traitement avec un fondant de Na2CO3/KNO3 et fusion; dosage du Pd et du Pt par FA-ICP-MS après digestion dans HNO3-HCl.

Cartes géochimiques disponibles:

Cartes avec symboles proportionnels montrant la distribution d’éléments choisis dans les sediments lacustres.  Histogrammes pour des éléments choisis dans les sediments lacustres.

Autres analyses:

Détermination de la perte par calcination.

Procédure d’échantillonnage

Un échantillonneur tubulaire muni d’un poids et fixé à une corde de nylon pour la récupération était lâché d’un hélicoptère muni de flotteurs. Les échantillons étaient conservés dans des sacs en papier kraft résistants à l’eau.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 McConnell, J.W. (2002). A pilot study of the distribution of platinum and palladium in lake sediment and soil in central Labrador (parts of NTS 13E, K, M, N). Newfoundland Department of Mines and Energy Open File LAB/1362, 31 p. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1995-2002 Échantillonnage de plusieurs milieux, dans le centre du Labrador, 1995 à 1998 (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
53.332° 55.5489° -63.1419° -61.8532°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre des parties de 13E/6 (Metchin River) et 13E/ 7 (Wilson Lake), au centre du Labrador.  La route Transcanadienne (Route 500) s'étend à travers la partie sud-ouest de la zone d'étude et la moitié ouest de Wilson Lake est située dans la partie sud-est de la zone d'étude.

  • Couvre des parties de 13M/8, 9 (les deux sans nom) et 13N/5, 12 (les deux sans nom) du SNRC dans la région de l'intrusion de Pants Lake, au centre du Labrador.  Il est situé juste à l'ouest de Sarah Lake.

Mots-clés


Date de modification