Survey Metadata

Soil, Surface water, Stream sediment

Newfoundland and Labrador

1995

Soil, stream water and stream sediment survey, NTS 13K/10, 14, 15, central Labrador, 1995.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


In 1995, soil, stream water and stream sediment samples were collected in the Florence Lake greenstone belt area, central Labrador.

Approximately 680 soil samples were collected in four areas: Stomach Lake, Florence Lake, Knee Lake and Ballet Pond.  Where possible, soils were collected along lines oriented at approximately right angles to glacial flow.  Generally, soils samples were collected from the B-horizon at 200 m intervals along lines spaced 1 km apart.  Additional high density sampling was done in the vicinity of the Baikie showing (Fe-Ni-Cu±PGE) to provide orientation data.  Soil samples were collected along lines oriented approximately at right angles to glacial flow.  Samples closest to the showing were collected at 12 m intervals along lines spaces 50 m apart; more distant sites were spaced at 25 m intervals along lines spaced 100 m apart.

Approximately 170 stream water samples were collected in the Florence Lake greenstone belt, including in the vicinity of the Baikie showing.  Samples were collected in purified 250 ml Nalgene bottles particularly in areas unsuitable for soil sampling due to lake of till cover or extreme topographic relief.

Approximately 123 stream sediment samples were collected in the Stomach Lake, Florence Lake, Knee Lake, Ballet Pond and Ugjoktok Bay areas.

The data for all sample media are published in Newfoundland and Labrador Department of Mines and Energy Open File 013K/0225.

Soil samples from the Baikie Grid were later analysed for Pt and Pd and these data are published in Newfoundland and Labrador Department of Mines and Energy Open File LAB/1362.

Data Description:

Paper report with data diskette.  Report and data now also available on CD.

Quantities Analysed:

<0.180 mm fraction of soil and stream sediments by INAA for an extensive element suite; by ICP-ES after HF-HClO4-HCl digestion for a large suite of elements; by AAS after HF-HClO4-HCl digestion for Cr and Mo; by AAS after HNO3-HCl digestion for base metals; by AAS for Ag after HNO3 digestion.

After filtration (0.45 μm) and HNO3 acidification in field, stream waters analyzed by ICP-ES for Ca, Fe, K, Mg, Mn, Na, Si, SO4; by ICP ultrasonic nebulizer for Al, Ba, Be, Co, Cr, Cu, Li, Mo, Ni, P, Sr, Ti, Y, Zn.

<0.180 mm fraction of Baikie Grid soil samples by FA-ICP-MS after HNO3-HCl digestion for Pt, Pd (OF LAB/1362).

Geochem Maps Available:

Histograms of soil, stream sediment and stream water data (Open File 13K/0225).

Proportional symbol maps showing distribution of selected elements in soil.  Soil histograms (OF LAB/1362).

Other Analyses:

pH and conductivity of stream water.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 McConnell, J.W. (1996). Soil, stream-water and stream sediment geochemistry of the Florence Lake Greenstone Belt, Labrador. Newfoundland Department of Mines and Energy, Open File 013K/0225, 58 p. (more)
2 McConnell, J.W. (1997). Soil and stream geochemistry of the Florence Lake greenstone belt, Labrador. In Current Research Report, C.P.G. Pereira (ed.). Newfoundland Geological Survey 1997-1, p. 101-118. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1995-2002 Multimedia sampling, central Labrador, 1995 - 1998 (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
54.7152° 55.0306° -61.2085° -60.4649°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers parts of NTS 13K/10 (Kaipokok River), 13K/14 (Mistinippi Lake) and 13K/15 (untitled) in the Florence Lake greenstone belt, central Labrador.  Its centre located approximately 60 km west of the town of Postville.  The Kanairiktok River runs through the southeast part of the study area.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Sol, Eau de surface, Sédiment de ruisseau

Terre-Neuve et Labrador

1995

Levé d’échantillonnage du sol, de sédiments et d'eaux fluviatiles, 13K/10, 14 et 15 du SNRC, Labrador (centre), 1995.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


En 1995, des échantillons de sol, d’eau de cours d’eau et de sédiments fluviatiles ont été recueillis dans la région de la ceinture de roches vertes de Florence Lake au centre du Labrador.

Environ 680 échantillons de sol ont été recueillis dans quatre régions: lac Stomach, lac Florence, lac Knee et l'étang Ballet. Partout où cela était possible, les échantillons de sol ont été recueillis le long de lignes perpendiculaires à l’écoulement glaciaire. Généralement, les échantillons de sols ont été prélevés dans l’horizon B à des intervalles de 200 m le long de lignes espacées de 1 km. Un échantillonnage additionnel de haute densité a été effectué aux environs de la manifestation Baikie (Fe-Ni-Cu ± ÉGP) pour l’acquisition de données d’orientation. Les échantillons de sol ont été recueillis le long de lignes perpendiculaires à l’écoulement glaciaire. Les échantillons les plus rapprochés de la manifestation ont été recueillis à des intervalles de 12 m le long de lignes espacées de 50 m; les sites d’échantillonnage plus éloignés se situaient à des intervalles de 25 m le long de lignes espacées de 100 m.

Environ 170 échantillons d’eaux de cours d’eau ont été recueillis dans la ceinture de roches vertes de Florence Lake, notamment aux environs de la manifestation Baikie. Les échantillons ont été recueillis dans des bouteilles Nalgene purifiées en particulier dans les régions impropres à l’échantillonnage pédogéochimique en raison de la présence de lacs ou d’une couverture de till ou encore d’un relief trop accidenté.

Environ 123 échantillons de sédiments fluviatiles ont été recueillis dans les région des lacs Stomach, Florence et Knee, de l’étang Ballet et de la baie Ugjoktok.

Les données obtenues de tous les milieux d’échantillonnage ont été publiées dans le dossier public 013K/0225 du Department of Mines and Energy de la Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador.

On a plus tard dosé le Pt et le Pd dans les échantillons de sol prélevés sur quadrillage à la manifestation Baikie et ces données sont publiées dans le dossier public LAB/1362 du Department of Mines and Energy de la Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador.

Description de données:

Rapport imprimé avec données sur disquette. Le rapport et les données sont maintenant aussi disponibles sur CD.

Quantités analysées:

Dans la fraction <0,180 mm du sol et de sédiments de ruisseau, dosage d’un grand ensemble d’éléments par INAA; dosage d’un grand ensemble d’éléments par ICP-ES après digestion dans HF-HClO4-HCl; dosage du Cr et du Mo par AAS après digestion dans HF-HClO4-HCl; dosage des métaux communs par AAS après digestion dans HNO3-HCl; dosage du Ag par AAS après digestion dans HNO3.

Après filtration (0,45 μm) et acidification (HNO3) sur le terrain, dosage du Ca, du Fe, du K, du Mg, du Mn, du Na, du Si et du SO4 dans l’eau de cours d’eau par ICP-ES; dosage du Al, du Ba, du Be, du Co, du Cr, du Cu, du Li, du Mo, du Ni, du P, du Sr, du Ti, du Y et du Zn par ICP après pulvérisation au pulvérisateur ultrasonique.

Dans la fraction <0,180 mm d’échantillons de sol de la grille Baikie, dosage du Pt et Pd par FA-ICP-MS après digestion dans HNO3-HCl (DP LAB/1362).

Cartes géochimiques disponibles:

Histogrammes de données pour les sols, les sediments fluviatiles et l’eau de cours d’eau (dossier public no 13K/0225).

Cartes avec symboles proportionnels montrant la distribution d’éléments choisis dans le sol Histogrammes pour les sols. (DP LAB/1362).

Autres analyses:

Détermination du pH et de la conductivité de l’eau de cours d’eau.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 McConnell, J.W. (1996). Soil, stream-water and stream sediment geochemistry of the Florence Lake Greenstone Belt, Labrador. Newfoundland Department of Mines and Energy, Open File 013K/0225, 58 p. (détails)
2 McConnell, J.W. (1997). Soil and stream geochemistry of the Florence Lake greenstone belt, Labrador. In Current Research Report, C.P.G. Pereira (ed.). Newfoundland Geological Survey 1997-1, p. 101-118. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1995-2002 Échantillonnage de plusieurs milieux, dans le centre du Labrador, 1995 à 1998 (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
54.7152° 55.0306° -61.2085° -60.4649°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre des parties de 13K/10 (Kaipokok River), 13K/14 (Mistinippi Lake) et 13K/15 (sans titre) dans la ceinture de roches vertes de Florence Lake, au centre du Labrador.  Le centre de la zone d'étude est situé à environ 60 km à l'ouest du village de Postville. Kanairiktok River s'étend à travers la partie sud-est de la zone d'étude.

Mots-clés


Date de modification