Survey Metadata

Soil

Newfoundland and Labrador

1996

Soil sampling, NTS 23I/13, 23J/16, Marion Lake area, northwest Labrador, 1996.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


In 1996, 344 samples of B-C horizon soil were collected from hand dug pits in the Marion Lake area, northwest Labrador.  Sites were located at 200 m intervals along lines spaced 1 km apart.  As a check on sampling variability, six pairs of duplicate samples were taken from sites located within 25 m of each other.  The data are published in Newfoundland and Labrador Department of Mines and Energy Open File LAB/1231.

Data Description:

Paper report with data diskette.

Quantities Analysed:

<0.180 mm fraction by INAA for a large suite of elements; by ICP-ES after HF-HClO4-HCl total digestion for an extensive suite of elements; by AAS after HF-HClO4-HCl for Cr, Mo; by AAS after HNO3-HCl for Cd, Co, Cu, Fe, Mn, Ni, Pb, and Zn; by AAS after HNO3 for Ag; by fluoride-ion selective electrode associated after fusion with Na2CO3-KNO3 flux for F.

Geochem Maps Available:

Symbol maps show the distribution of selected elements in till.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 McConnell, J.W. (1997). A regional soil survey of a gold and base-metal prospective area in the Marion Lake region, NW Labrador. Newfoundland Department of Mines and Energy, Open File LAB/1231, 36 p. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1996-1997 Northwest Newfoundland soil sampling, 1996 (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
54.7751° 54.9081° -66.0292° -65.7992°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers parts of NTS 23I/13 (Marion Lake) and 23J/16 (Hollinger Lake), the Marion Lake area in the eastern portion of the Labrador Trough, northwest Labrador.  It is located about 55 km east of Schefferville, Quebec.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Sol

Terre-Neuve et Labrador

1996

Échantillonnage du sol, 23I/13 et 23J/16 du SNRC, région du lac Marion, nord-ouest du Labrador, 1996.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


En 1996, 344 échantillons des horizons B et C du sol ont été recueillis dans des fosses creusées à la main dans la région du lac Marion dans le nord-ouest du Labrador. Les sites d’échantillonnage étaient espacés de 200 m le long de lignes éloignées de 1 km les unes des autres. À titre de vérification de la variabilité de l’échantillonnage, six paires de duplicatas de terrain ont été prélevés de sites éloignés de 25 m les uns des autres. Les données sont publiées dans le dossier public LAB/1231 du Ministére des Mines et de l’Énergie de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador.

Description de données:

Rapport imprimé avec données sur disquette.

Quantités analysées:

Dans la fraction <0,180 mm, dosage d’un grand ensemble d’éléments par INAA; dosage d’un grand ensemble d’éléments par ICP-ES après digestion totale dans HF-HClO4-HCl; dosage du Cr et du Mo par AAS après HF-HClO4-HCl; dosage du Cd, du Co, du Cu, du Fe, du Mn, du Ni, du Pbet du Zn par AAS après HNO3-HCl; dosage du Ag par AAS après HNO3; dosage du F par électrode sélective d’ions fluorure associée après fusion avec un fondant de Na2CO3-KNO3.

Cartes géochimiques disponibles:

Cartes avec symbols montrant la distribution d’éléments choisis dans le till.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 McConnell, J.W. (1997). A regional soil survey of a gold and base-metal prospective area in the Marion Lake region, NW Labrador. Newfoundland Department of Mines and Energy, Open File LAB/1231, 36 p. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1996-1997 Échantillonnage des sols dans le nord-ouest de la Terre-Neuve, 1996 (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
54.7751° 54.9081° -66.0292° -65.7992°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre des parties de 23I/13 (Marion Lake) et 23J/16 (Hollinger Lake) du SNRC, la région de Marion Lake dans la portion est de la fosse du Labrador, au nord-ouest du Labrador.  Il est situé à environ 55 km à l'est de Schefferville, Québec.

Mots-clés


Date de modification