Survey Metadata

Soil, Surface water, Stream sediment

Newfoundland and Labrador

1980

Stream sediment, stream water and soil sampling, NTS 23J/10, 15, 16, 13N/11, Labrador, 1980.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


During the summer of 1980, soil sampling was carried out in the vicinity of four base metal anomalies.  Anomalies 1, 3 and 4 are in the Labrador Trough, eastern Labrador and Anomaly 8 is located southwest of Davis Inlet in eastern Labrador.  A total of 361 samples were collected.

Soils samples at Anomaly 1 were collected from 100 m intervals along a 1 km line aligned perpendicular to the mapped strike of the bedrock.  At Anomaly 8, soil sampling was completed over a 1 x 1.4 km grid.  Lines were spaced at 200 m and samples were collected at 50 and 100 m intervals on alternate lines.  At Anomalies 3 and 4, samples were collected on a 2 x 2 km grid at 50 m intervals along lines spaced 400 m apart.

A total of 137 combined sediment and water samples were collected at 250 m intervals from streams on Anomalies 1, 3 and 4.  Active stream silt was preferentially collected.  A 250 ml water sample was collected at each site even if no sediment was available.

The data are published in Newfoundland Department of Mines and Energy Open File LAB/0563.

Data Description:

Paper report with data lists.

Quantities Analysed:

<0.177 mm fraction analyzed for U by neutron activation and by AAS for base metals and other elements.

0.177 mm fraction of stream sediments were analyzed by AAS after an aqua regia digestion and a hot nitric leach for Cu, Pb, Zn, Co, Ni, Ag, Mn and Fe; F by ion selective electrode; Mo by AAS using a nitrous oxide acetylene flame.

Geochem Maps Available:

Data values are plotted on maps of the soil grids.

Other Analyses:

Water samples were analyzed for heavy metals using a colorimetric dithizone test and for pH.

Sampling Procedure

Active stream silt was preferentially collected.  A water sample (250 ml) was collected in a plastic bottle at each site.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 McConnell, J.W. (1981). Stream sediment, stream water and soil geochemistry associated with four base metal anomalies in Labrador. Newfoundland Department of Mines and Energy, Open File LAB/0563; 36 p. (accompanies Maps 81-19 to 81-44). (more)
2 McConnell, J. (1984). Reconnaissance and detailed geochemical surveys for base metals in Labrador. Newfoundland and Labrador Department of Mines and Energy, Mineral Development Division, Report 84-2, 114p. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1979-1981 Base metal and uranium anomaly follow up project, central Labrador, 1979-1980 (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
54.51° 55.6313° -67° -61.1773°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers part of NTS 23J/16 (Hollinger Lake) in the Newfoundland portion of the Labrador Trough.  It covers a base metal anomaly known as “Anomaly 1” and lies approximately 40 km northeast of Schefferville, Quebec.  It is bounded to the northeast by Martin Lake.

  • Covers part of NTS 23J/15 (Lac Knob) in the Newfoundland portion of the Labrador Trough.  It covers a base metal anomaly known as Anomaly 3 and lies approximately 8 km northeast of Schefferville, Quebec and just southwest of Attikamagen Lake.

  • Covers part of NTS 23J/10 (Stakit Lake) in the Newfoundland portion of the Labrador Trough.  It covers a base metal anomaly known as Anomaly 4 and lies approximately 10 km south of Schefferville, Quebec.

  • Covers part of NTS 13N/11 (untitled) covering a base metal anomaly known as Anomaly 8.  It is located approximately 40 km southwest of Davis Inlet and 250 km north of Goose Bay.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Sol, Eau de surface, Sédiment de ruisseau

Terre-Neuve et Labrador

1980

Échantillonnage du sol, de sédiments et d'eaux fluviatiles, 23J/10, 15 et 16 et 13N/11 du SNRC, Labrador, 1980.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


Pendant l’été de 1980, un échantillonnage du sol a été mené aux environs de quatre anomalies des concentrations en métaux communs. Les anomalies 1, 3 et 4 se situent dans la fosse du Labrador, dans l’est de Labrador, et l’anomalie 8 se trouve au sud-ouest de Davis Inlet dans l’est de Labrador.  Au total 361 échantillons ont été recueillis.

Sur l’anomalie 1, les échantillons de sol ont été recueillis à des intervalles de 100 m le long d’une ligne longue de 1 km orientée perpendiculairement à la direction cartographiée du substratum. Sur l’anomalie 8, l’échantillonnage a été exécuté suivant une grille couvrant 1 sur 1,4 km. Les lignes étaient espacées de 200 m et les échantillons ont été recueillis à des intervalles de 50 et 100 m à toutes les deux lignes. Sur les anomalies 3 et 4, les échantillons ont été recueillis suivant une grille couvrant 2 sur 2 km à des intervalles de 50 m sur des lignes espacées de 400 m.

Au total, 137 échantillons combinés de sédiments et d’eaux ont été recueillis aux anomalies 1,3 et 4, à des intervalles de 250 m dans des cours d’eau. On a de préférence échantillonné le limon dans des cours d’eau actifs. Un échantillon d’eau de 250 ml a été prélevé en chaque site, même lorsqu’aucun sédiment n’était disponible.

Les données sont publiées dans le dossier public LAB/0563 du Ministére des Mines et de l’Énergie de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador.

Description de données:

Rapport imprimé avec liste de données.

Quantités analysées:

Dans la fraction <0,177 mm, dosage du U par activation neutronique et dosage des métaux communs et d’autres éléments par AAS.

Dans la fraction 0,177 mm de sédiments de ruisseau, dosage du Cu, du Pb, du Zn, du Co, du Ni, du Ag, du Mn et du Fe par AAS après digestion dans l’eau régale et lixiviation par l’acide nitrique chaud; dosage du F par électrode sélective; dosage du Mo par AAS avec une flamme d’acétylène et d’oxyde d’azote.

Cartes géochimiques disponibles:

Les valeurs des données sont tracées sur des cartes avec quadrillages d’échantillonnage du sol.

Autres analyses:

Dosage des métaux lourds dans l’eau par essai colorimétrique à la dithizone et détermination du pH.

Procédure d’échantillonnage

Les limons d’un ruisseau actif ont été préférentiellement prélevés.  Un échantillon d'eau (250 ml) a été recueilli dans un bouteille en plastique à chaque site.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 McConnell, J.W. (1981). Stream sediment, stream water and soil geochemistry associated with four base metal anomalies in Labrador. Newfoundland Department of Mines and Energy, Open File LAB/0563; 36 p. (accompanies Maps 81-19 to 81-44). (détails)
2 McConnell, J. (1984). Reconnaissance and detailed geochemical surveys for base metals in Labrador. Newfoundland and Labrador Department of Mines and Energy, Mineral Development Division, Report 84-2, 114p. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1979-1981 Project de suivi des anomalies de métal de base et d’uranium, centre du Labrador, 1979-1980 (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
54.51° 55.6313° -67° -61.1773°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre une partie de 23J/16 (Hollinger Lake) du SNRC dans la portion Terre-Neuve de la fosse du Labrador.  Il couvre une anomalie de métal de base connue sous le nom d’Anomaly 1 et il se trouve approximativement 40 km au nord-est de Schefferville, Québec.  Il est délimité au nord-est par Martin Lake.

  • Couvre une parte de 23J/15 (Lac Knob) du SNRC dans la portion Terre-Neuve de la fosse du Labrador.  Il couvre une anomalie du métal commun connu sous le nom d’Anomaly 3.  Il se trouve à environ 8 km au nord-est de Schefferville, Québec et just au sud-ouest d’Attikamagen Lake.

  • Couvre une partie de 23J/10 (Stakit Lake) du SNRC dans la portion Terre-Neuve de la fosse du Labrador.  Il couvre une anomalie du métal commun connu sous le nom d’Anomaly 4.  Il se trouve à environ 10 km au sud de Schefferville, Québec.

  • Couvre une partie de 13N/11 (sans titre) du SNRC en couvrant une anomalie du métal commun connu sous le nom d’Anomaly 8.  Il est situé à environ 40 km au sud-ouest de Davis Inlet et 250 km au nord de Goose Bay.

Mots-clés


Date de modification