Survey Metadata

Bedrock

Manitoba

1995

Lithogeochemical survey, province of Manitoba, 1995-1996.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


The development of a black shale geochemical database was initiated in 1995 and contains data for greater than 600 samples.  Three types of samples were collected: percussion chips from archived oil and gas well cuttings, diamond drill core from stratigraphic and mineral exploration drill core, and outcrop chip samples.

The archived well chips were sampled in approximately 15 m intervals to provide enough material for the various analytical methods. Drill core was sampled by collecting 4 to 5 representative chips approximately 3 cm in core length. In 1996, representative (n=300) outcrop samples comprising 2 to 3 chips of approximately 8 cm in diameter were collected.

Samples were analysed by INAA (Activation Laboratories Ltd.) and ICP-ES (Chemex Laboratories Ltd.).

The database is available in Manitoba Energy and Mines Open File Report OF98-2.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Fedikow, M.A.F., Bezys, R.K., Bamburak, J.D., Garrett, R.G. (1997). Geochemical characterization of black shales in Manitoba’s Phanerozoic. In Manitoba Energy and Mines, Minerals Division, Report of Activities 1997, p. 129. (more)
2 Fedikow, M.A.F., Bezys, R.K., Bamburak, J.D., Conley, G.G., Garret, R.G. (1998). Geochemical database for Phanerozoic black shales in Manitoba. Manitoba Energy and Mines, Geological Services, Open File Report OF98-2, 124 p. (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
49° 53.91° -101.84° -96.66°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers small parts of NTS 62J/13 (Laurier; 1 site) and 62J/14 (McCreary; 1 site) in southern Manitoba.  It is located approximately 18 southeast of Dauphin Lake and 38 km west of Lake Manitoba.  The centre of the study area is located approximately 11 km south of the town of Sainte Rose du Lac and 10 km northeast of the town of Laurier.

  • Covers a very small part of NTS 63F/03 (Overflowing River; 1 site) in west-central Manitoba.  It is located near the most northwest point of Lake Winnipegosis.  It is located approximately 40 km east of the Manitoba-Saskatchewan border.  The centre of the study area is located approximately 2 km southwest of the town of Overflowing River.

  • Covers most of the west half of NTS 63G (Grand Rapids) in central Manitoba.  It is located just west of the northernmost part of Lake Winnipeg, between South Moose, William and Cedar lakes.  Highway 6 runs north-south just outside the eastern edge of the study area.

  • Covers very small parts of NTS 62N/15 (Pine River; 1 site) and 62N/16 (Sagemace Bay; 1 site) in west central Manitoba.  It is bounded to the east by Lake Winnipegosis and to the west by Highway 10.  The town of Pulp Rive is located approximately in the centre of the study area.

  • Covers a very small part of NTS 62O/15 (Gypsumville; 1 site) in central Manitoba.  It is located between Lake Winnipeg and Lake Winnipegosis.  The city of Gypsumville is located about 25 km southeast of the centre of the study area.  Highway 6 runs north-south through the centre of the study area.

  • Covers parts of NTS 62F/02 (Waskada), /03 (Gainsborough) and /07 (Hartney) in southwest Manitoba.  The westernmost edge of the study area is located 4 km east of the Manitoba-Saskatchewan border and the Canada-US border is located 2.5 km south of the study area.  The Souris River runs north-south through the centre of the study area.

  • Covers small parts of NTS 62F/10 (Pipestone; 1 site) and 62F/15 (Virden; 1 site) in southwest Manitoba.  The centre of the study area is located approximately 60 east of the Manitoba-Saskatchewan border and 46 km southwest of the city of Brandon.  The TransCanada Highway and the Assiniboine River run east-west through the study area.

  • Covers very small parts of NTS 63K/03 (Miniota: 1 site) and 63K/06 (Birtle; 1 site) in southwest Manitoba.  It is located southwest of the Assiniboine River and approximately 6 km east of the Manitoba-Saskatchewan border.  The town of McAuley is located in the southern part of the study area.

  • Covers a very small part of NTS 62G/03 (Holmfield) in southern Manitoba.  It is located approximately 5 km south of Rock Lake.  Highway 5 runs north-south along the western edge of the study area.

  • Covers part of NTS 62G (Brandon) and a small part of 62H (Winnipeg) in southern Manitoba.  It is bounded to the south by the Canada-U.S. border.  The Pembina River is located in the southern part of the study area.  The towns of Snowflake, Morden, Roseisle and Treherne are located within the study area.

  • Covers parts of NTS 62I/02 (Selkirk) and 62I/03 (Stonewall) in southern Manitoba.  It is located approximately 22 km north of Winnipeg and just south of the city of Selkirk.  Lake Manitoba and Lake Winnipeg are northwest and north of the study area, respectively.

  • Covers a very small part of NTS 62J/09 (Lundar; 1 site) in southern Manitoba.  It is located just east of lake Manitoba, approximately 3.5 km northeast of the community of Oak Point.  Highway 6 runs north-south through the study area.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Roche en place

Manitoba

1995

Levé lithogéochimique, la province du Manitoba, 1995-1996.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


Le développement d'une base de données géochimique de schiste noir a été lancé en 1995 et contient des données pour plus de 600 échantillons. Trois types d’échantillons ont été recueillis: des copeaux provenant de puits archivés de pétrole et de gaz; la carotte de sondage au diamant provenant de carottes de forage stratigraphique et de l'exploration minérale; et des échantillons de pierres concassés provenant d’affleurement.

Les pierres concassées de puits archivés ont été échantillonné à des intervalles d'environ 15 m pour fournir assez de matériel pour les différentes méthodes analytiques.  Les carottes de forage a été échantillonnées par recueillant 4 à 5 copeaux représentatifs environ 3 cm de longueur de la carotte.  En 1996, des échantillons représentatifs (n=300) provenant d'affleurements comprenant 2 à 3 copeaux d'environ 8 cm de diamètre ont été recueillis.

Les échantillons ont été analysés par INAA (Activation Laboratories Ltd.) et ICP-ES (Chemex Laboratories Ltd.).

La base de données est disponible dans le dossier public OF98-2 du Ministère de l’Énergie et des Mines du Manitoba.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Fedikow, M.A.F., Bezys, R.K., Bamburak, J.D., Garrett, R.G. (1997). Geochemical characterization of black shales in Manitoba’s Phanerozoic. In Manitoba Energy and Mines, Minerals Division, Report of Activities 1997, p. 129. (détails)
2 Fedikow, M.A.F., Bezys, R.K., Bamburak, J.D., Conley, G.G., Garret, R.G. (1998). Geochemical database for Phanerozoic black shales in Manitoba. Manitoba Energy and Mines, Geological Services, Open File Report OF98-2, 124 p. (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
49° 53.91° -101.84° -96.66°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre des petites parties de 62J/13 (Laurier; 1 site) et 62J/14 (McCreary; 1 site) du SNRC au sud du Manitoba.  Il est situé à environ 18 km au sud-est de Dauphin Lake et 38 km à l’ouest du lac Manitoba.  Le centre de la zone d’étude se trouve à environ 11 km au sud de la ville de Sainte Rose du Lac et 10 km au nord-est de la ville de Laurier.

  • Couvre une petite partie de 63F/03 (Overflowing River) du SNRC dans la partie ouest-centrale du Manitoba.  Il est situé près du point le plus au nord-ouest de lac Winnipegosis et à environ 40 km à l’est de la frontière du Manitoba-Saskatchewan.  Le centre de la zone d’étude se trouve à environ 2 km au sud-ouest de la ville d’Overflowing River.

  • Couvre la plupart de la moitié ouest de 63G (Grand Rapids) du SNRC au centre du Manitoba.  Il est situé juste à l’ouest de la partie à l'extrême nord du lac Winnipeg, entre les lacs South Moose, William et Cedar.  L’autoroute 6 s’étend nord-sud juste à l’extérieur du bord de l'est de la zone d’étude.

  • Couvre des très petites parties de 62N/15 (Pine River; 1 site) et 62N/16 (Sagemace Bay; 1 site) du SNRC dans la partie ouest-centrale du Manitoba.  Il est délimité à l’est par lac Winnipegosis et à l’ouest par l’autoroute 10.  La ville de Pulp River se trouve approximativement dans le centre de la zone d’étude.

  • Couvre une très petite partie de 62O/15 (Gypsumville; 1 site) du SNRC au centre du Manitoba.  Il est situé entre lac Winnipeg et lac Winnipegosis.  La ville de Gypsumville se trouve à environ 25 km au sud-est du centre de la zone d’étude.  L’autoroute 6 s’étend nord-sud à travers le centre de la zone d’étude.

  • Couvre des parties de 62F/02 (Waskada), /03 (Gainsborough) et /07 (Hartney) du SNRC au sud-ouest du Manitoba.  Le bord de l’extrême ouest de la zone d’étude se trouve 4 km à l’est de la frontière du Manitoba-Saskatchewan et la frontière du Canada-É.-U. et située à environ 2.5 km au sud de la zone d’étude.  Souris River s’étend nord-sud à travers le centre de la zone d’étude.

  • Couvre des petites parties de 62F/10 (Pipestone; 1 site) et 62F/15 (Virden; 1 site) du SNRC au sud-ouest du Manitoba.  Le centre de la zone d’étude est situé à environ 60 km à l’est de la frontière du Manitoba-Saskatchewan et 45 km au sud-ouest de la ville de Brandon.  La Transcanadienne et Assiniboine River s’étendent est-ouest à travers la zone d’étude.

  • Couvre des très petites parties de  (Miniota: 1 site) et 63K/06 (Birtle; 1 site) du SRNC au sud-ouest du Manitoba.  Il est situé au sud-ouest d’Assiniboine River et à environ 6 km à l’est de la frontière du Manitoba-Saskatchewan.  La ville de McAuley se trouve dans la partie sud de la zone d’étude.

  • Couvre une très petite partie de 62G/03 (Holmfield) du SNRC au sud du Manitoba.  Il est situé à environ 5 km au sud de Rock Lake.  L’autoroute 5 s’étend nord-sud le long du bord ouest de la zone d’étude.

  • Couvre une partie de 62G (Brandon) du SNRC et une petite partie de 62H (Winnipeg) au sud du Manitoba.  Il est délimité au sud par la frontière du Canada-É.-U.S  La rivière Pembina est située dans la partie sud de la zone d’étude.  Les villes de Snowflake, Morden, Roseisle et Treherne se trouvent  à l’intérieur de la zone d’étude.

  • Couvre des parties de 62I/02 (Selkirk) et 62I/03 (Stonewall) du SNRC au sud du Manitoba.  Il est situé à environ 22 km au nord de Winnipeg et juste au sud de la ville de Selkirk.  Lac Manitoba et lac Winnipeg sont situées au nord-ouest et nord, respectivement, de la zone d’étude.

  • Couvre une très petite partie de 62J/09 (Lundar; 1 site) du SNRC au sud du Manitoba.  Il est situé juste à l’est du lac Manitoba, à environ 3.5 km au nord-est de la communauté d’Oak Point.  L’autoroute 6 s’étend nord-sud à travers la zone d’étude.

Mots-clés


Date de modification