Survey Metadata

Soil, Till, Vegetation, Bedrock, Indicator minerals, Selective extraction

Manitoba

2000

Multimedia survey, NTS 53L, M, east central Manitoba, 2000.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


In 2000, multimedia geochemical samples, including humus, soil, till, vegetation and rocks were collected in the northern portion of the Knee Lake greenstone belt in east central Manitoba as part of Operation Superior.  Samples were collected on approximately 1 km centres or as dictated by access to landing sites using a float equipped helicopter.  A till pit was hand augered at each site and all other samples were collected in and around the immediate area of the till pit.

Humus samples were collected from beneath the moss mat that was normally removed prior to digging the till sample pit.  If the humus layer was too thin, the sample site was moved 5-10 m away from the till pit.  Care was taken to avoid any inorganic material.  Duplicate samples were collected at approximately every fifteenth site.

B-horizon soil samples were collected from the pit dug for the till samples.  The B-horizon was isolated on a clean face of one or more walls of the pit and then scooped into a sample bag.  Care was taken not to include any organic material.  Duplicate samples were collected at every tenth site.

Approximately 326 till samples were collected from hand-dug pits to bedrock, a maximum depth of about 1 m or until relatively unoxidized C-horizon till was intersected.

Between June and August 2000, black spruce crown twigs were collected from each sampling site.  At most sites, the vegetation was collected within 20 m of the till pit.  The twigs were collected from the upper 45 cm of the tree.

Outcrop rock chip samples were collected after moss mats and soil were removed from the outcrop.  A representative sample consisted of 3-4 fist-sized chips.

The data are published in Manitoba Industry, Trade and Mines Open File Report OF2001-1.

Kimberlite indicator mineral (KIM) data are also available in Manitoba Geological Survey Open File Reports OF2001-5 and OF2002-1.

Data Description:

Paper and digital.

Quantities Analysed:

<0.177 mm fraction of humus by ICP-AES (four-acid total digestion) and by INAA.

<0.250 mm fraction of B-horizon soil by enzyme-leach ICP-MS; ICP-AES analysis of the enzyme leachate was done for Mn, A., Ca, Fe, Na, Mg, K and Si.

<0.002 mm fraction of till by ICP-AES (no digestion given); As by hydride ICP-AES; Hg by CV-ICP-AES.  <0.063 mm fraction of till by INAA (Au + 34 elements).

Ashed vegetation samples were analysed by ICP-AES after an aqua regia dissolution and by INAA.

Geochem Maps Available:

Proportional dot maps showing distribution of elements in various sample media.

Other Analyses:

<0.063 mm fraction of till for carbonate analysis (Chittick).

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Fedikow, M.A.F., Nielsen, E., Conley, G.G., Lenton, P.G. (2001). Operation Superior: kimberlite indicator mineral survey results for the northern half of the Knee Lake greenstone belt, northern Superior Province, Manitoba (NTS 53M/1, 2, 3, 7 and 53L/15). Manitoba Industry, Trade and Mines, Manitoba Geological Survey, Open File Report OF2001-5. (more)
2 Fedikow, M.A.F., Nielsen, E., Conley, G.G., Lenton, P.G. (2001). Operation Superior: multimedia geochemical survey results from the northern portion of the Knee Lake greenstone belt, northern Superior Province, Manitoba (NTS 53L). Manitoba Industry, Trade and Mines, Manitoba Geological Survey, Open File Report OF2001-1. (more)
3 Fedikow, M.A.F., Nielsen, E., Conley, G.G., Lenton, P.G. (2002). Operation Superior: compilation of kimberlite indicator mineral survey results (1996-2001). Manitoba Industry, Trade and Mines, Manitoba Geological Survey, Open File Report 2002-1, 60 p. (more)
4 Keller, G.R., Bogdan, D.J., Matile, G.L.D. (2004). Manitoba kimberlite indicator mineral database (version 3.0). Manitoba Industry, Economic Development and Mines, Manitoba Geological Survey, Open File Report 2004-25. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1996-2001 Operation Superior, east central Manitoba, 1996-2001 (more)
2 1996-2001 Manitoba Enzyme Leach Project, 1996-2001. (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
54.92° 55.33° -95.08° -94.25°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers parts of NTS 53L (Oxford House) and 53M (Knee Lake), the northern part of the Knee Lake greenstone belt, east central Manitoba.  Its southern border is located approximately 42 km northwest of the community of Gods Lake Narrows.  Knee Lake is located approximately in the centre of the study area.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Sol, Till, Végétation, Roche en place, Minéraux indicateurs, Extraction selective

Manitoba

2000

Levé dans plusieurs milieux, 53L et M du SNRC, partie centrale est du Manitoba, 2000.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


En 2000, des échantillons géochimiques provenant de plusieurs milieux, notamment l’humus, le sol, le till, la végétation et les roches, ont été recueillis dans la partie nord de la ceinture de roches vertes de Knee Lake de la partie centrale est du Manitoba, dans le cadre de l’Opération Supérieur. Des échantillons ont été recueillis selon des intervalles d’approximativement 1 km ou selon l’accessibilité à des sites d’atterrissage par hélicoptère à flotteurs. En chaque site, une fosse a été creusée dans le till à l’aide d’une tarière à main, alors que tous les autres échantillons ont été recueillis dans la zone immédiate de la fosse et à proximité.

Des échantillons d’humus ont été recueillis sous le tapis de mousse qui était normalement retiré avant de creuser la fosse d’échantillonnage du till. Si la couche d’humus était trop mince, le site d’échantillonnage était déplacé de 5 à 10 m de la fosse. On a pris soin de ne pas inclure de matière inorganique. Des duplicatas ont été recueillis approximativement tous les quinze sites.

Des échantillons de sol de l’horizon B ont été recueillis dans la même fosse d’échantillonnage du till. On a d’abord isolé l’horizon B sur une face nette de l’une ou de plusieurs parois de la fosse et on a ensuite recueilli l’échantillon dans un sac d’échantillonnage. On a pris soin de ne pas inclure de matière organique. Des duplicatas ont été recueillis tous les dix sites.

Approximativement 326 échantillons de till ont été recueillis dans des fosses creusées à la main jusqu’au substratum rocheux, à une profondeur maximale d’environ 1 m ou jusqu’à ce qu’on rencontre le premier horizon C de till non oxydé.

Entre juin et août 2000, des brindilles ont été prélevées à la cime d’épinettes noires, dans chacun des sites d’échantillonnage. Dans la plupart des sites, les échantillons de végétation étaient prélevés à moins de 20 m de la fosse d’échantillonnage du till. Les brindilles étaient prélevées dans les 45 cm supérieurs de l’arbre.

Des échantillons de fragments de roche ont été prélevés sur des affleurements après que les tapis de mousse et le sol eurent été retirés. Un échantillon représentatif se composait de 3 à 4 fragments de la grosseur du poing.

Les données sont publiées dans le rapport public OF2001-1 du ministère de l’Industrie, du Commerce et des Mines du Manitoba.

Les données des minéraux indicateurs de kimberlite (KIM) sont également disponibles dans Manitoba Geological Survey Open File Reports OF2001-5 et OF2002-1.

Description de données:

Imprimé et numérique.

Quantités analysées:

Dans la fraction <0,177 mm de l’humus, dosages par ICP-AES après digestion totale dans quatre acides et par INAA.

Dans la fraction <0,250 mm de l’horizon B du sol, dosages par ICP-MS après lixiviation par un enzyme; dans le lixiviat, dosage du Mn, du As, du Ca, du Fe, du Na, du Mg, du K et du Si par ICP-AES.

Dans la fraction <0,002 mm du till, dosage par ICP-AES (aucune digestion indiquée); dosage du As par ICP-AES avec génération d’hydrures, dosage du Hg par CV-ICP-AES. Dans la fraction <0,063 mm du till, dosage par INAA (du Au + 34 éléments).

Analyse d’échantillons de végétation calcinés par ICP-AES après dissolution dans l’eau régale et par INAA.

Cartes géochimiques disponibles:

Cartes avec symboles proportionnels montrant la distribution des dans divers milieux d’échantillonnage.

Autres analyses:

Dosage du carbonate par la méthode de Chittick dans la fraction <0,063 mm du till; H+ et conductivité dans les échantillons de l’horizon B et d’humus

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Fedikow, M.A.F., Nielsen, E., Conley, G.G., Lenton, P.G. (2001). Operation Superior: kimberlite indicator mineral survey results for the northern half of the Knee Lake greenstone belt, northern Superior Province, Manitoba (NTS 53M/1, 2, 3, 7 and 53L/15). Manitoba Industry, Trade and Mines, Manitoba Geological Survey, Open File Report OF2001-5. (détails)
2 Fedikow, M.A.F., Nielsen, E., Conley, G.G., Lenton, P.G. (2001). Operation Superior: multimedia geochemical survey results from the northern portion of the Knee Lake greenstone belt, northern Superior Province, Manitoba (NTS 53L). Manitoba Industry, Trade and Mines, Manitoba Geological Survey, Open File Report OF2001-1. (détails)
3 Fedikow, M.A.F., Nielsen, E., Conley, G.G., Lenton, P.G. (2002). Operation Superior: compilation of kimberlite indicator mineral survey results (1996-2001). Manitoba Industry, Trade and Mines, Manitoba Geological Survey, Open File Report 2002-1, 60 p. (détails)
4 Keller, G.R., Bogdan, D.J., Matile, G.L.D. (2004). Manitoba kimberlite indicator mineral database (version 3.0). Manitoba Industry, Economic Development and Mines, Manitoba Geological Survey, Open File Report 2004-25. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1996-2001 Opération Supérieur, centre-est du Manitoba, 1996 à 2001 (détails)
2 1996-2001 Projet de la lixiviation enzymatique du Manitoba, 1998-2001. (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
54.92° 55.33° -95.08° -94.25°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre des parties de 53L (Oxford House) et 53M (Knee Lake) du SNRC, dans la partie nord de la ceinture de roches vertes de Knee Lake, dans la partie est-centrale du Manitoba.  Sa limite sud est située à environ 42 km au nord-ouest de la collectivité de Gods Lake Narrows.  Knee Lake est situé à environ dans le centre de la zone d'étude.

Mots-clés


Date de modification