Survey Metadata

Soil, Till, Vegetation, Bedrock, Indicator minerals, Selective extraction

Manitoba

1998

Multimedia survey, NTS 53 K, L, east central Manitoba, 1998.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Primary Publications (see below for full list)

Index Publication
1 Fedikow, M.A.F., Nielsen, E., Conley, G.G., Matile, G.L.D. (1999). Operation Superior: multimedia geochemical survey results from the Webber Lake, Knife Lake, Goose Lake and Echimamish River greenstone belts, northern Superior Province, Manitoba (NTS 53L and 53K). Manitoba Energy and Mines, Geological Services, Open File Report OF 99-8, 400 p. and 1 CD-ROM. (more)

Survey Description


In 1998, multimedia geochemical samples, including humus, soil, till, vegetation and rocks were collected from the Webber Lake, Knife Lake, Goose Lake and Echimamish River greenstone belts in east central Manitoba as part of Operation Superior.  Samples were collected on approximately 1 km centres or as dictated by access to landing sites using a float equipped helicopter.  A till pit was hand augered at each site and all other samples were collected in and around the immediate area of the till pit.

Approximately 202 humus samples were collected from beneath the moss mat that was normally removed prior to digging the till sample pit.  If the humus layer was too thin, the sample site was moved 5-10 m away from the till pit.  Care was taken to avoid any inorganic material.  Duplicate samples were collected at approximately every tenth site.

Approximately 200 B-horizon soil samples were collected from the pit dug for the till samples.  The B-horizon was isolated on a clean face of one or more walls of the pit and then scooped into a sample bag.  Care was taken not to include any organic material.  Duplicate samples were collected at every tenth site.

Approximately 177 till samples were collected from hand-dug pits to bedrock or to maximum depth of about 1 m or until unoxidized C-horizon till was intersected.  At each site, 0.5 kg of till was collected for geochemical analyses and an 11 L pail of till was collected for diamond indicator mineral processing.

Between June and August 1998, black spruce crown twigs were collected from each sampling site.  At most sites, the vegetation was collected within 20 m of the till pit.  The twigs were collected from the upper 45 cm of the tree.

Outcrop rock chip samples were collected after moss mats and soil were removed from the outcrop.  A representative sample consisted of 3-4 fist-sized chips.

The data are published in Manitoba Energy and Mines Open File Report OF99-8.

Kimberlite indicator mineral (KIM) data are also available in Manitoba Geological Survey Open File Report OF2002-1.

Data Description:

Paper and digital.

Quantities Analysed:

<0.177 mm fraction of humus was analyzed by ICP-AES after a four acid total digestion and by INAA.

<0.063 mm fraction of B-horizon samples were treated with a leach selective extraction and analyzed using ICP-MS.

<0.002 mm fraction of till analyzed by ICP-AES for 34 elements, for Hg by CV-AAS, and As by hydride generation.  <0.063 mm of till analyzed by INAA for 34 elements.

Ashed vegetation samples were analysed by ICP-AES after an aqua regia dissolution and by INAA.

Geochem Maps Available:

Proportional dot maps showing distribution of elements in various sample media.

Other Analyses:

Till: carbonate on <0.063 mm fraction by Chittick; B-horizon and humus: H+ and conductivity.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Fedikow, M.A.F., Nielsen, E., Conley, G.G., Matile, G.L.D. (1999). Operation Superior: multimedia geochemical survey results from the Webber Lake, Knife Lake, Goose Lake and Echimamish River greenstone belts, northern Superior Province, Manitoba (NTS 53L and 53K). Manitoba Energy and Mines, Geological Services, Open File Report OF 99-8, 400 p. and 1 CD-ROM. (more)
2 Fedikow, M.A.F., Nielsen, E., Conley, G.G., Lenton, P.G. (2002). Operation Superior: compilation of kimberlite indicator mineral survey results (1996-2001). Manitoba Industry, Trade and Mines, Manitoba Geological Survey, Open File Report 2002-1, 60 p. (more)
3 Keller, G.R., Bogdan, D.J., Matile, G.L.D. (2004). Manitoba kimberlite indicator mineral database (version 3.0). Manitoba Industry, Economic Development and Mines, Manitoba Geological Survey, Open File Report 2004-25. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1996-2001 Operation Superior, east central Manitoba, 1996-2001 (more)
2 1996-2001 Manitoba Enzyme Leach Project, 1996-2001. (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
54.1842° 54.6094° -95.9297° -93.8802°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers part of the west central part of NTS 53L (Oxford House) in the area of the Echimamish River greenstone belt, east central Manitoba.  It is located south of Colen Lakes and its centre is located approximately 52 km southwest of the community of Oxford House, MB.

  • Covers part of NTS 53L/1 (Mistuhe Lake), /2 (Kakeenukamak Lake), /6 (Joint Lake), /7 (Kanuchuan Rapids), et /8 (Murray Lake) in the area of the Goose Lake greenstone belt, east central Manitoba.  Its centre is located approximately 30 km southwest of the community of Gods Lake Narrows.  Goose Lake and the northern part of Beaver Hill Lake are located within the study area.

  • Covers part of NTS 53L/8 (Murray Lake) in the area of the Webber Lake greenstone belt, east central Manitoba.  Its centre is located approximately 25 km southeast of the community of Gods Lake Narrows and 11 km southeast of Knife Lake.

  • Covers part of NTS 53L/9 (Gods Lake) in the area of the Knife Lake greenstone belt and extends east just into NTS 53K/12 (Pesanapisko Lake) in east central Manitoba.  Its western edge is located just east of the community of Gods Lake Narrows.  Knife Lake lies approximately in the geographic centre of the study area.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Sol, Till, Végétation, Roche en place, Minéraux indicateurs, Extraction selective

Manitoba

1998

Levé dans plusieurs milieux, 53 K et L du SNRC, partie centrale est du Manitoba, 1998.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Publications principals (voir ci-dessous pour une liste complète)

Index Publication
1 Fedikow, M.A.F., Nielsen, E., Conley, G.G., Matile, G.L.D. (1999). Operation Superior: multimedia geochemical survey results from the Webber Lake, Knife Lake, Goose Lake and Echimamish River greenstone belts, northern Superior Province, Manitoba (NTS 53L and 53K). Manitoba Energy and Mines, Geological Services, Open File Report OF 99-8, 400 p. and 1 CD-ROM. (détails)

Description du levé


En 1998, des échantillons géochimiques provenant de plusieurs milieux, notamment l’humus, le sol, le till, la végétation et les roches, ont été recueillis dans les ceintures de roches vertes de Webber Lake, de Knife Lake, de Goose Lake et d’Echimamish River dans la partie centrale est du Manitoba, dans le cadre de l’Opération Supérieur. Des échantillons ont été recueillis selon des intervalles d’approximativement 1 km ou selon l’accessibilité à des sites d’atterrissage par hélicoptère à flotteurs. En chaque site, une fosse a été creusée dans le till à l’aide d’une tarière à main, alors que tous les autres échantillons ont été recueillis dans la zone immédiate de la fosse et à proximité.

Environ 202 échantillons d’humus ont été recueillis sous le tapis de mousse qui était normalement retiré avant de creuser la fosse d’échantillonnage du till. Si la couche d’humus était trop mince, le site d’échantillonnage était déplacé de 5 à 10 m de la fosse. On a pris soin de ne pas inclure de matière inorganique. Des duplicatas ont été recueillis approximativement tous les dix sites.

Environ 200 échantillons de sol de l’horizon B ont été recueillis dans la même fosse d’échantillonnage du till. On a d’abord isolé l’horizon B sur une face nette de l’une ou de plusieurs parois de la fosse et on a ensuite recueilli l’échantillon dans un sac d’échantillonnage. On a pris soin de ne pas inclure de matière organique. Des duplicatas ont été recueillis tous les dix sites.

Environ 177 échantillons de till ont été recueillis dans des fosses creusées à la main jusqu’au substratum rocheux, ou jusqu’à une profondeur maximale d’environ 1 m, ou jusqu’à ce qu’on rencontre le premier horizon C de till non oxydé. En chaque site, un demi-kilogramme de till était recueilli aux fins d’analyses géochimiques et 11 L de till était recueilli dans un seau afin de déterminer la présence de minéraux indicateurs de diamant.

Entre juin et août 1998, des brindilles ont été prélevées à la cime d’épinettes noires, dans chacun des sites d’échantillonnage. Dans la plupart des sites, les échantillons de végétation étaient prélevés à moins de 20 m de la fosse d’échantillonnage du till. Les brindilles étaient prélevées dans les 45 cm supérieurs de l’arbre.

Des échantillons de fragments de roche ont été prélevés sur des affleurements après que les tapis de mousse et le sol eurent été retirés. Un échantillon représentatif se composait de 3 à 4 fragments de la grosseur du poing.

Les données sont publiées dans le rapport public OF99-8 du ministère de l’Énergie et des Mines du Manitoba.

Les données des minéraux indicateurs de kimberlite (KIM) sont également disponibles dans Manitoba Geological Survey Open File Report OF2002-1.

Description de données:

Imprimé et numérique.

Quantités analysées:

Dans la fraction <0,177 mm de l’humus, dosages par ICP-AES après digestion totale dans quatre acides et par INAA.

Dans la fraction <0,063 mm d’échantillons de l’horizon B, extraction sélective par lixiviation et dosages par ICP-MS.

Dans la fraction <0,002 mm du till dosage de 34 éléments par ICP-AES, du Hg par CV-AAS et du As par génération d’hydrures. Dans la fraction <0,063 mm du till, dosage de 34 éléments par INAA.

Dans des échantillons de végétation incinérés, dosages par ICP-AES après dissolution dans l’eau régale et par INAA.

Cartes géochimiques disponibles:

Cartes avec symboles proportionnels montrant la distribution des éléments dans divers milieux d’échantillonnage.

Autres analyses:

Till : dosage du carbonate par la méthode de Chittick dans la fraction <0,063 mm; H+ et conductivité dans l’horizon B et l’humus.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Fedikow, M.A.F., Nielsen, E., Conley, G.G., Matile, G.L.D. (1999). Operation Superior: multimedia geochemical survey results from the Webber Lake, Knife Lake, Goose Lake and Echimamish River greenstone belts, northern Superior Province, Manitoba (NTS 53L and 53K). Manitoba Energy and Mines, Geological Services, Open File Report OF 99-8, 400 p. and 1 CD-ROM. (détails)
2 Fedikow, M.A.F., Nielsen, E., Conley, G.G., Lenton, P.G. (2002). Operation Superior: compilation of kimberlite indicator mineral survey results (1996-2001). Manitoba Industry, Trade and Mines, Manitoba Geological Survey, Open File Report 2002-1, 60 p. (détails)
3 Keller, G.R., Bogdan, D.J., Matile, G.L.D. (2004). Manitoba kimberlite indicator mineral database (version 3.0). Manitoba Industry, Economic Development and Mines, Manitoba Geological Survey, Open File Report 2004-25. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1996-2001 Opération Supérieur, centre-est du Manitoba, 1996 à 2001 (détails)
2 1996-2001 Projet de la lixiviation enzymatique du Manitoba, 1998-2001. (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
54.1842° 54.6094° -95.9297° -93.8802°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre une partie de la partie ouest-centrale de 53L (Oxford House) du SNRC dans la région de la ceinture de roches vertes d'Echimamish River, la partie est-centrale du Manitoba. Il est situé au sud de Colen Lakes et son centre est situé à environ 52 km au sud-ouest de la collectivité d'Oxford House.

  • Couvre une partie de 53L/1 (Mistuhe Lake), /2 (Kakeenukamak Lake), /6 (Joint Lake), /7 (Kanuchuan Rapids), et /8 (Murray Lake) du SNRC, dans la région de la ceinture de roches vertes de Goose Lake, la partie est-centrale du Manitoba.  Le centre de la zone d'étude est situé à environ 30 km au sud-ouest de la collectivité de Gods Lake Narrows.  Goose Lake et la partie nord de Beaver Hill Lake sont situés dans la zone d'étude.

  • Couvre une partie de 53L/8 (Murray Lake) du SNRC dans la région de la ceinture de roches vertes de Webber Lake, la partie est-centrale du Manitoba.  Le centre de la zone d'étude est situé à environ 25 km au sud-est de la collectivité de Gods Lake Narrows et 11 km au sud-est de Knife Lake.

  • Couvre une partie de 53L/9 (Gods Lake) du SNRC dans la région de la ceinture de roches vertes de Knife Lake.  Il s'étend à l'est juste dans 53K/12 (Pesanapisko Lake) du SNRC, dans la partie est-centrale du Manitoba.  Son bord de l'ouest est situé juste à l'est de la collectivité de Gods Lake Narrows.  Knife Lake se trouve à environ dans le centre géographique de la zone d'étude.

Mots-clés


Date de modification