Survey Metadata

NGR stream

Nova Scotia

1986

Stream sediment and water survey, NTS 11E, F, G, J, K, N and 21H, mainland Nova Scotia and Cape Breton Island, 1986-1987.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


During 1986 and 1987, a regional stream sediment survey was conducted throughout northern mainland Nova Scotia and Cape Breton Island.  Approximately 3500 samples were collected from an area of ~ 24,000 km2 with an average sampling density of 1 sample per 6.9 km2.  Sample spacing was dependent upon drainage patterns.

Approximately 5 kg of stream sediment was collected at each site.  Samples were passed through a -18 mesh nylon screen and collected along with the sieving water.  After further processing at the lab, stream sediments were analysed by DCP-AES.  Heavy minerals were separated from the samples and analysed by XRF and INAA.

Stream waters were collected in plastic bottles for U and F analysis.

The data are published in Nova Scotia Department of Mines and Energy Open File Report 89-007.

This survey was carried out using National Geochemical Reconnaissance (NGR) protocols.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Mills, R.F. (1989). Geochemical analyses of bulk stream sediment samples from northern Nova Scotia. Nova Scotia Department of Mines and Energy, Open File Report 89-7, 368 p. (more)
2 Rogers, P.J., Lombard, P.A. (1995). Regional geochemical surveys conducted by the Nova Scotia Department of Mines and Energy from 1957 to 1989. Nova Scotia Department of Mines and Energy, Open File Report 90-017, 57 p., 15 maps. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1982-1987 Nova Scotia regional stream sediment surveys project, 1982-1983, and 1986-1987 (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
45.24° 47.06° -64.96° -59.48°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers part of NTS 21H (Amherst), most of 11E (Truro), 11F (Canso), 11K (Sydney) and 11N (Îles de la Madeleine) and all of the terrestrial parts of 11G, J (both Glace Bay), northern mainland Nova Scotia and Cape Breton Island.  It is bounded to the west by Bay of Fundy, to the east by the Atlantic Ocean and to the north by the Gulf of St. Lawrence.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

PNRG ruisseau

Nouvelle Écosse

1986

Levé de sédiments et d’eaux fluviatiles, 11E, F, G, J, K, N et 21H du SNRC, partie continentale de la Nouvelle-Écosse et l’Île du Cap-Breton, 1986-1987.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


Durant 1986 et 1987, un levé régional de sédiments fluviatiles a été mené tout au long de la partie continentale nord de la Nouvelle-Écosse et de l'île du Cap-Breton.  Environ 3500 échantillons ont été recueillis d’une superficie d’environ 24 000 km2 avec une densité moyenne d’échantillonnage d’un échantillon par 6.9 km2.  L’intervalle d’échantillonnage était dépendant sure des modèles de drainage.

Environ 5 kg de sédiment fluviatile a été recueilli sur chaque site.  On a passé les échantillons à travers un écran de nylon à maille de -18 et recueillis avec l’eau utilisé pour tamiser.  Après traitement supplémentaire au laboratoire, les sédiments fluviatiles ont été analysés par DCP-AES.  Les minéraux lourds ont été séparés des échantillons et analysés par XRF et INAA.

Les eaux de ruisseau ont été recueillies dans les bouteilles plastiques pour l’analyse de l’uranium et le fluor.

Les données sont publiées dans le rapport Open File Report 89-007 du Ministère des mines et de l’énergie de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

Ce levé a été réalisé en utilisant des protocoles du Programme nationale de la reconnaissance géochimique (PNRG).

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Mills, R.F. (1989). Geochemical analyses of bulk stream sediment samples from northern Nova Scotia. Nova Scotia Department of Mines and Energy, Open File Report 89-7, 368 p. (détails)
2 Rogers, P.J., Lombard, P.A. (1995). Regional geochemical surveys conducted by the Nova Scotia Department of Mines and Energy from 1957 to 1989. Nova Scotia Department of Mines and Energy, Open File Report 90-017, 57 p., 15 maps. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1982-1987 Projet de levés géochimiques régionaux des sédiments fluviatiles. 1982-1983, et 1986-1987 (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
45.24° 47.06° -64.96° -59.48°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre une partie de 21H (Amherst) du SNRC, la plupart de 11E (Truro), 11F (Canso), 11K (Sydney) et 11N (Îles de la Madeleine), et toutes les parties terrestres de 11G, J (Glace Bay, les deux), la partie nord de la partie continentale de la Nouvelle-Écosse  et l’île du Cap-Breton.  Il est délimité à l’ouest par la baie de Fundy, à l’est par l’océan Atlantique et au nord par le golfe du Saint-Laurent.

Mots-clés


Date de modification