Survey Metadata

Till

Nova Scotia

1984

Till sampling survey, NTS 11E, northern mainland Nova Scotia and Pictou Island, 1984-1985.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


Approximately 244 till samples were collected in 1984 and 1985 on northern mainland Nova Scotia and Pictou Island at an average density of 1 sample per 13 km2.  Samples were obtained from road cuts, sea cliffs and till pits at an average depth of 1.5 m below the modern solum.  The data are published in Nova Scotia Department of Mines and Energy Open File Maps 88-031 (Map 12-1988) and 88-032 (Map 12-1988).

Data Description:

Paper map; map margin has data tables keyed to samples located on the map.

Quantities Analysed:

<0.002 mm fraction by AAS for 12 elements; by colourimetry for As; and by fluorometry for U (OF Map 88-031).  Heavy mineral concentrate (0.063-0.3 mm fraction) collected in 1984 were analysed by colourimetry for W; by iodide fusion for Sn; and by DCP for Ba.  HMCs (0.063-0.3 mm fraction) collected in 1985 were analysed by ICP-ES for 12 elements (OF Map 88-032).

Geochem Maps Available:

Sample sites with anomalous element levels are indicated on map.

Other Analyses:

Heavy mineral concentrate (OF Map 88-032).

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Turner, R.G., Stea, R.R. (1988). Till geochemistry of northern mainland Nova Scotia, clay fraction analyses, Map 12-88. Nova Scotia Department Mines and Energy, Open File Map 88-031. (more)
2 Turner, R.G., Stea, R.R. (1988). Till geochemistry of northern mainland Nova Scotia, heavy mineral separate analysis, Map 12-88. Nova Scotia Department Mines and Energy, Open File Map 88-032. (more)
3 Turner, R.G., Stea, R.R. (1990). Interpretation of till geochemical data in Nova Scotia, Canada, using mapped till units, multi-element anomaly patterns, and the relationship of till clast geology to matrix geochemistry. Journal of Geochemical Exploration, v. 37, p. 225-254. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1982-1988 Northern mainland Nova Scotia till project, 1982-1986 (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
45.25° 45.85° -62.75° -62°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers NTS 11E/1, 8, 9, 16 and parts of 11E/2, 7, 10, 15 on northern mainland Nova Scotia and Pictou Island.  It is bounded to the north by Northumberland Strait.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Till

Nouvelle Écosse

1984

Levé d’échantillonnage du till, 11E du SNRC, partie continentale nord de la Nouvelle-Écosse et île Pictou, 1984-1985.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


En 1984 et 1985, environ 244 échantillons de till ont été recueillis  dans la partie continentale nord de la Nouvelle-Écosse et l’Île Pictou, suivant  une densité moyenne de 1 échantillon aux 13 km2. Les échantillons ont été obtenus à partir de tranchées de route, falaises de mer et puits de till  à une profondeur moyenne de 1.5 m au-dessous du solum moderne. Les données sont publiées sous forme de cartes dans les dossiers publics 88-031 (carte 12-1988) et 88-032 (carte 12-1988) du Department of Mines and Energy de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

Description de données:

Carte imprimée; en marge de la carte il y a des tableaux de données codés en fonction des échantillons localisés sur la carte.

Quantités analysées:

Dans la fraction <0,002 mm dosage de 12 éléments par AAS; dosage du As par colorimétrie et du U par fluorométrie (carte 88-031 du DP). Dans un concentré de minéraux lourds (fraction 0,063 à 0,3 mm) recueillis en 1984 dosage du W par colorimétrie; dosage du Sn par fusion avec l’iodure et du Ba par DCP. Dans des concentrés de minéraux lourds (fraction 0,063 à 0,3 mm) recueillis en 1985 dosage de 12 éléments par ICP-ES (carte 88-032 du DP).

Cartes géochimiques disponibles:

Carte montrant les emplacements d’échantillonnage où les concentrations des éléments sont anormales.

Autres analyses:

Concentré de minéraux lourds (OF carte 88-032 du DP).

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Turner, R.G., Stea, R.R. (1988). Till geochemistry of northern mainland Nova Scotia, clay fraction analyses, Map 12-88. Nova Scotia Department Mines and Energy, Open File Map 88-031. (détails)
2 Turner, R.G., Stea, R.R. (1988). Till geochemistry of northern mainland Nova Scotia, heavy mineral separate analysis, Map 12-88. Nova Scotia Department Mines and Energy, Open File Map 88-032. (détails)
3 Turner, R.G., Stea, R.R. (1990). Interpretation of till geochemical data in Nova Scotia, Canada, using mapped till units, multi-element anomaly patterns, and the relationship of till clast geology to matrix geochemistry. Journal of Geochemical Exploration, v. 37, p. 225-254. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1982-1988 Projet de till dans la partie continentale nord de la Nouvelle-Écosse, 1982 à 1986 (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
45.25° 45.85° -62.75° -62°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre 11E/1, 8, 9, 16 et des parties de 11E/2, 7, 10, 15 du SNRC dans la partie continentale nord de la Nouvelle-Écosse et l’île Pictou.  Délimité au nord par le détroit de Northumberland.

Mots-clés


Date de modification