Survey Metadata

Till

Nova Scotia

1985

Till sampling, 11D/5, 12, 13, 21A/9 (E½), eastern South Mountain Batholith area, central Nova Scotia, 1985.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


Till sampling was carried out in 1985 in the Sambro, Halifax, Mt. Uniacke and Chester map areas, on the eastern portion of the South Mountain Batholith (SMB), central Nova Scotia.  Samples were collected on a 2 km2 grid from beneath the placon and/or B-horizon zone at an average depth of 1 m.  In most cases till was sampled although ice contact deposits or residuum were locally collected.  Glacial deposits were sampled primarily in road cuts and hand-dug pits.  The data are published in Nova Scotia Department of Mines and Energy Preliminary Maps 87-011, 87-012 and 87-013.  A compilation of the geochemistry from the entire SMB area can be found in Nova Scotia Department of Mines Open File Report 90-006.

Data Description:

Paper maps; map margin has data tables keyed to sample numbers plotted on map.  Compilation report 90-006 is a paper report with data lists.

Quantities Analysed:

Map 87-011: <0.063 mm fraction by XRF for 8 elements; by INAA for 26 elements; by AAS for Fe and Mn.  HMCs by INAA for W; by ICP-MS for Sn, Nb, Ta.

Map 87-012: <0.063 mm fraction for Cu, Pb, Zn, Nb, Sr, Ni, Cr and TiO2 by XRF; for selected elements by INAA and for Au by FA-AAS.

Map 87-013: <0.063 mm fraction of till for Cu, Pb, Zn, Nb, Sr, Ni, Cr and TiO2 by XRF; for Fe and Mn by AAS; for Au + 25 elements by INAA; for Fe and Mn by AAS.  HMC for W by INAA and for Sn, Nb and Ta by ICP-MS.

Report 90-006: <0.063 mm fraction of till for Ni, Cr, Ba, Th, Sc, As, Rb, Sb, Ta, U and W by INAA; for Pb, Zn, Cu, Fe, and Mn by AAS using a partial extraction of HCl-HNO3 (1:3).

Geochem Maps Available:

Report 90-006:trend surface plots and proportional symbol plots for various elements.

Other Analyses:

Map 87-011: Heavy mineral concentrates.

Map 87-012: HMC for W by INAA and for Sn, Nb and Ta by ICP-MS.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Boner, F.J., Finck, P.W., Graves, R.M. (1987). Preliminary till geochemistry of the Chester map sheet, South Mountain Batholith. Nova Scotia Department Mines and Energy, Open File Map 87-013. (more)
2 Boner, F.J., Finck, P.W., Graves, R.M. (1987). Preliminary till geochemistry of the Halifax and Sambro map sheets, South Mountain Batholith. Nova Scotia Department Mines and Energy, Open File Map 87-012. (more)
3 Boner, F.J., Finck, P.W., Graves, R.M. (1987). Preliminary till geochemistry of the Mount Uniacke map sheet, South Mountain Batholith Project. Nova Scotia Department Mines and Energy, Open File Map 87-011. (more)
4 Finck, P.W., Graves, R.M., Boner, F.J. (1988). The South Mountain Batholith Pleistocene survey: progress report. In Report of Activities 1988, Part A, D.R. MacDonald, Y. Brown (ed.). Nova Scotia Department of Mines and Energy, Report 88-3, p.117-121. (more)
5 Finck, P.W., Graves, R.M., Boner, F.J. (1989). Progress report on the South Mountain Batholith Pleistocene Survey. In Report of Activities 1989, Part A, D.R. MacDonald, K.A. Mills (ed.). Nova Scotia Department of Mines and Energy, Report 89-3, p.81-82. (more)
6 Boner, F.J., Finck, P.W., Graves, R.M. (1990). Trace element analysis of till (-230 mesh), South Mountain Batholith, NTS Sheets 11D/5, 12, 13, 21A/3,4,5,6,7,9,10,11,12,14,15,16, 21H/2 and 20P/13. Nova Scotia Department of Mines and Energy Open File Report 90-006. (more)
7 Finck, P.W., Boner, F.J., Graves, R.M. (1990). Heavy mineral till geochemistry (tin) of the eastern and central South Mountain Batholith. Nova Scotia Department of Mines and Energy Open File Report 90-004. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1985-1990 South Mountain Batholith (SMB) Pleistocene Mapping Project, Nova Scotia (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
44.38° 44.9° -64.25° -63.5°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers NTS 11D/5, 12, 13 and the east half of NTS 21A/9 on the eastern portion of the South Mountain Batholith, central Nova Scotia.  It is bounded to the south by the Atlantic Ocean.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Till

Nouvelle Écosse

1985

Échantillonnage du till, 11D/5, 12, 13 et 21A/9 (½ E) du SNRC, secteur South Mountain Batholith, Nouvelle-Écosse (centre), 1985.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


Un échantillonnage du till a été exécuté en 1985 dans les régions des cartes Sambro, Halifax, Mt. Uniacke et Chester, dans la partie est du batholite de South Mountain, au centre de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Des échantillons ont été prélevés suivant un quadrillage de 2 km2 sous la couche d’oxyde de fer et/ou la zone de l’horizon B à une profondeur moyenne de 1 m. Dans la plupart des cas, le till a été échantillonné, bien que des dépôts de contact glaciaire ou résiduaires aient été prélevés par endroits. Les dépôts glaciaires ont été échantillonnés principalement dans des tranchées de routes et dans des fosses creusées à la main. Les données sont publiées sur les cartes préliminaires 87-011, 87-012 et 87-013 du Department of Mines and Energy de la Nouvelle-Écosse. On peut trouver une compilation des données géochimiques de toute la région du batholithe de South Mountain dans le rapport public 90-006 du Department of Mines de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

Description de données:

Cartes imprimées; dans les marges des cartes des tableaux de données renvoient aux numéros des échantillons portés sur les cartes. Le rapport de compilation 90-006 est un rapport imprimé avec liste de données.

Quantités analysées:

Carte 87-011: dans la fraction <0,063 mm dosage de 8 éléments par XRF; dosage de 26 éléments par INAA; dosage du Fe et du Mn par AAS. Dans des concentrés de minéraux lourds dosage du W par INAA; dosage du Sn, du Nb et du Ta par ICP-MS.

Map 87-012: <0.063 mm fraction for Cu, Pb, Zn, Nb, Sr, Ni, Cr and TiO2 by XRF; des éléments sélectionnés par INAA et pour l’Au par FA-AAS.

Map 87-013:la fraction  <0.063 mm du till pour Cu, Pb, Zn, Nb, Sr, Ni, Cr et TiO2par XRF; pour Fe et Mn par AAS; dosage de l’Au + 25 éléments par INAA; pour Fe et Mn par AAS.  HMC pour W par INAA etpour Sn, Nb et Ta par ICP-MS.

Report 90-006:la fraction  <0.063 mm du till dosage du Ni, Cr, Ba, Th, Sc, As, Rb, Sb, Ta, U et W par INAA; pour Pb, Zn, Cu, Feet Mn par AAS en utilisant une extraction partielle de HCl-HNO3 (1:3).

Cartes géochimiques disponibles:

Rapport 90-006 : tracés de tendances en surface et tracés avec symboles proportionnels pour divers éléments.

Autres analyses:

Carte 87-011: Concentré de minéraux lourds.

Carte 87-012 : dosage du W par INAA et du Sn, du Nb et du Ta par ICP-MS dans des CML.

Carte 87-013: Concentrés de minéraux lourds extraits de la fraction de -50+230 mailles de la matrice du till.

Rapport 90-006 : lithologie des clastes.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Boner, F.J., Finck, P.W., Graves, R.M. (1987). Preliminary till geochemistry of the Chester map sheet, South Mountain Batholith. Nova Scotia Department Mines and Energy, Open File Map 87-013. (détails)
2 Boner, F.J., Finck, P.W., Graves, R.M. (1987). Preliminary till geochemistry of the Halifax and Sambro map sheets, South Mountain Batholith. Nova Scotia Department Mines and Energy, Open File Map 87-012. (détails)
3 Boner, F.J., Finck, P.W., Graves, R.M. (1987). Preliminary till geochemistry of the Mount Uniacke map sheet, South Mountain Batholith Project. Nova Scotia Department Mines and Energy, Open File Map 87-011. (détails)
4 Finck, P.W., Graves, R.M., Boner, F.J. (1988). The South Mountain Batholith Pleistocene survey: progress report. In Report of Activities 1988, Part A, D.R. MacDonald, Y. Brown (ed.). Nova Scotia Department of Mines and Energy, Report 88-3, p.117-121. (détails)
5 Finck, P.W., Graves, R.M., Boner, F.J. (1989). Progress report on the South Mountain Batholith Pleistocene Survey. In Report of Activities 1989, Part A, D.R. MacDonald, K.A. Mills (ed.). Nova Scotia Department of Mines and Energy, Report 89-3, p.81-82. (détails)
6 Boner, F.J., Finck, P.W., Graves, R.M. (1990). Trace element analysis of till (-230 mesh), South Mountain Batholith, NTS Sheets 11D/5, 12, 13, 21A/3,4,5,6,7,9,10,11,12,14,15,16, 21H/2 and 20P/13. Nova Scotia Department of Mines and Energy Open File Report 90-006. (détails)
7 Finck, P.W., Boner, F.J., Graves, R.M. (1990). Heavy mineral till geochemistry (tin) of the eastern and central South Mountain Batholith. Nova Scotia Department of Mines and Energy Open File Report 90-004. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1985-1990 Projet de cartographie du batholite pléistocène de South Mountain, en Nouvelle-Écosse (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
44.38° 44.9° -64.25° -63.5°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre 11D/5, 11D/12 et 11D/13 et la moitié est de 21A/9 (Chester) du SNRC dans la portion est du batholite de South Mountain, le centre de la Nouvelle-Écosse.  Délimité au sud par l'océan Atlantique.

Mots-clés


Date de modification