Survey Metadata

Soil, Till

New Brunswick

1982

Soil and till sampling, NTS 21J/06, Sisson Brook area, central New Brunswick, 1982-1983.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)

Survey Description


In 1982, a geochemical orientation survey was carried out on the Sisson Brook Mining Licence where three zones of W-Mo-Cu mineralization have been outlined.  Profile samples of O, A, B and C horizons and unaltered till were collected.  In 1983, whole till samples were collected and were combined with the corresponding 1982 whole till geochemical data to give a total population of 157 overburden samples.  In all, samples were taken from 56 backhoe trenches and 9 hand-dug pits.  The study is described in Journal of Geochemical Exploration v.28.

Data Description:

Paper report, no data lists but element data in tables and diagrams.

Quantities Analysed:

2.00-0.180 mm, 0.180-0.075 mm, and <0.075 analyzed by AAS after HNO3/HCl digestion for Cu, Pb, Zn, Ni, Ag, Mo and Fe, for As by colourimetry, F by ion-selective electrode, W by fusion and colourimetry, Sn by XRF and Bi by AAS after HNO3 digestion.  <2.00 mm ground to <0.075 mm for Cu, Mo and W by same techniques as above.

Geochem Maps Available:

Soil profiles of trench samples.

Other Analyses:

HMC for selected elements.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Snow, R.J., Coker, W.B. (1987). Overburden geochemistry related to W-Cu-Mo mineralization at Sisson Brook, New Brunswick, Canada: an example of short- and long-distance glacial dispersal. In Geochemical Exploration 1985, Part 1, R.G. Garrett (ed.). Proceedings of the 11th international geochemical exploration symposium. Journal of Geochemical Exploration, v. 28, p. 353-368 (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1982-1987 Sisson Brook area soil and till sampling, central New Brunswick, 1982-1983 (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
46.3504° 46.4167° -67.1266° -67.0102°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers part of NTS 21J/6 (Coldstream) on the Sisson Brook Mining Licence, central New Brunswick.  It is located in York County, about 55 km northwest of Fredericton, New Brunswick.  It lies northeast of the Nashwaak River.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Sol, Till

Nouveau-Brunswick

1982

Échantillonnage du sol et du till, 21J/06 du SNRC, secteur Sisson Brook, Nouveau-Brunswick (centre), 1982-1983.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)

Description du levé


En 1982, un levé géochimique d’orientation a été effectué dans la concession minière de Sisson Brook où trois zones de minéralisation en W-Mo-Cu ont été délimitées. Des échantillons de sol ont été prélevés dans les horizons O, A, B et C du profil des sols, ainsi que des échantillons de till inaltéré. En 1983, des échantillons de l’ensemble du till ont été recueillis et combinés aux données géochimiques correspondantes de 1982, résultant en une collecte de 157 échantillons dans les morts-terrains. Dans l’ensemble, des échantillons ont été prélevés dans 56 tranchées creusées à la pelle rétrocaveuse et dans 9 fosses creusées à la main. L’étude est décrite dans Journal of Geochemical Exploration, vol. 28.

Description de données:

Rapport imprimé, aucune liste de données, mais des données sur les éléments dans des tableaux et diagrammes.

Quantités analysées:

Dans les fractions 2,00 à 0,180 mm, 0,180 à 0,075 mm et <0,075 mm, dosage du Cu, du Pb, du Zn, du Ni, du Ag, du Mo et du Fe par AAS après digestion dans HNO3/HCl, dosage du As par colorimétrie, du F par électrode sélective d’ions, du W par fusion et colorimétrie, du Sn par XRF et du Bi par AAS après digestion dans HNO3.  Dans la fraction <2,00 mm broyée à <0,075 mm, dosage du Cu, du Mo et du W par les mêmes méthodes que ci-haut.

Cartes géochimiques disponibles:

Profils pédologiques d’après les échantillons prélevés en tranchées.

Autres analyses:

CML pour des éléments choisis.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Snow, R.J., Coker, W.B. (1987). Overburden geochemistry related to W-Cu-Mo mineralization at Sisson Brook, New Brunswick, Canada: an example of short- and long-distance glacial dispersal. In Geochemical Exploration 1985, Part 1, R.G. Garrett (ed.). Proceedings of the 11th international geochemical exploration symposium. Journal of Geochemical Exploration, v. 28, p. 353-368 (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1982-1987 Échantillonnage des sols et du till, région de Sisson Brook, centre du Nouveau-Brunswick, 1982 à 1983 (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
46.3504° 46.4167° -67.1266° -67.0102°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre une partie de 21J/6 (Coldstream) du SNRC sur le Sisson Brook Mining Licence, centre du Nouveau-Brunswick.  Il est situé dans le comté de York, à environ 55 km au nord-ouest de Fredericton, Nouveau-Brunswick.  Il se trouve au nord-est de Nashwaak River.

Mots-clés


Date de modification