Survey Metadata

Stream sediment, Lake sediment

Ontario

1970

Lake and stream sediment survey, NTS 31C/11, 30M/3, 5, 40P/8, southern Ontario, 1970.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)

Survey Description


During the summer of 1970, a total of 1,105 stream sediments were collected in a 1,165 km2 area around St. Catherines, Ontario.  Samples were collected from wet or dry stream channels located upstream from all road bridges in the study area.  This technique provided a uniform coverage of samples sites over the area, except in the vicinity of Fonthill where there are no streams.

Cores of lake sediments were taken from 20 lakes in 5 areas: Kaladar, Cambridge, Hamilton, Belleville and St. Catherines.  Within each area, small lakes were selected for core sampling; one or more cores were taken from each lake depending on conditions.

An interpretation of the study and some of the data can be found in Geological Society of America Special Paper 155.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Fortescue, J.A.C., Terasmae, J. (1975). Man’s effect on the geochemistry of lake and stream sediments from southern Ontario. In Trace Element Geochemistry in Heath and Disease, J. Freedman (ed.). The Geological Society of America, Special Paper 155, p. 9-26. (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
43° 44.75° -80.44° -77.01°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers most of 30M/3 (Niagara) on the Niagara Peninsula, southern Ontario.  It is bounded to the north by Lake Ontario and to the east by the Ontario-New York border.  The city of St. Catherines lies within the study area.

  • Covers part of the northeast corner of NTS 31C/11 (Kaladar) in the Kaladar area of southeastern Ontario.  The centre of the study area is located approximately 70 km northwest of Kingston and 15 km southwest of Big Gull Lake.

  • Covers parts of NTS 31C/3 (Belleville), /4 (Trenton), /5 (Cambellford) and /6 (Tweed) in the Belleville area, southern Ontario.  It is bounded to the south partly by Lake Ontario.  The Bay of Quinte lies in the east-central part of the study area and Highway 401 runs east-west through the central part of the study area.

  • Covers most of NTS 40P/8 (Cambridge) in the Galt/Cambridge region of southwestern Ontario.  The eastern edge of the study area is located about 25 km west of Lake Ontario.  The city of Cambridge lies within the study area.

  • Covers part of NTS 30M/5 (Hamilton-Burlington) in the Hamilton area of southwestern Ontario.  The centre of the study area is located about 13 km north of Hamilton and 9 km northwest of Burlington.  Lake Ontario is located 9 km to the east.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Sédiment de ruisseau, Sédiment de lac

Ontario

1970

Levé de sediments fluviatiles et lacustres, 31C/11, 30M/3, 5, 40P/8 du SNRC, sud de l’Ontairo, 1970.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)

Description du levé


Au cours de l'été 1970, un total de 1105 échantillons de sédiments fluviatiles ont été recueillis dans une zone de 1165 km2 autour St. Catherines, en Ontario. Les échantillons ont été recueillis dans des cours d'eau, sèches ou humides situées en amont de tous les ponts des routes dans la zone d’étude. Cette technique a fourni une couverture uniforme des échantillons de sites sur la zone, sauf à proximité de Fonthill où il n'y a pas de cours d'eau.

Des carottes de sédiments lacustres ont été recueillies dans 20 lacs dans 6 domaines: Kaladar, Cambridge, Hamilton, Belleville et Saint-Catherines. Dans chaque domaine, de petits lacs ont été choisis pour carottage; une ou plusieurs carottes ont été recueillies à partir de chaque lac en fonction des conditions.

On peut trouver une interpretation d l’étude et une partie des données dans Geological Society of America Special Paper 155.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Fortescue, J.A.C., Terasmae, J. (1975). Man’s effect on the geochemistry of lake and stream sediments from southern Ontario. In Trace Element Geochemistry in Heath and Disease, J. Freedman (ed.). The Geological Society of America, Special Paper 155, p. 9-26. (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
43° 44.75° -80.44° -77.01°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre la plupart de 30M/3 (Niagara) du SNRC sur Niagara Peninsula, au sud de l’Ontario.  Il est délimité au nord par lac Ontario et à l’est par la frontière de l’Ontario et l’état de New York.  La ville de St. Catherines se trouve dans la zone d’étude.

  • Couvre une partie du coin nord-est de 31C/11 (Kaladar) du SNRC dans la région de Kaladar au sud-est de l’Ontario.  Le center de la zone d’étude est situé à environ 70 km au nord-ouest de Kingston et 15 km au sud-ouest de Big Gull Lake.

  • Couvre des parties de 31C/3 (Belleville), /4 (Trenton), /5 (Cambellford) et /6 (Tweed) dans la région de Belleville au sud de l’Ontario.  Il est délimité au sud en partie par lac Ontario.  Bay of Quinte se trouve dans la partie est-centrale de la zone d’étude et l’autoroute 401 s’étend de l’est à ouest à travers la partie centrale de la zone d’étude.

  • Couvre la plupart de 40P/8 (Cambridge) du SNRC dans la région de Galt/Cambridge au sud-ouest de l’Ontario.  La limite est de la zone d’étude est située à environ 25 km à l’ouest du lac Ontario.  La ville de Cambridge se trouve dans la zone d’étude.

  • Couvre une partie de 30M/5 du SNRC dans la région de Hamilton au sud-ouest de l’Ontario.  Le centre de la zone d’étude est situé à environ 13 km au nord de Hamilton et 9 km au nord-ouest de Burlington.  Lac Ontario est situé 9 km à l’est.

Mots-clés


Date de modification