Survey Metadata

Soil, Till

Nova Scotia

1982

Soil and till sampling, NTS 11E/2, Halifax county, central Nova Scotia, 1982.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)

Survey Description


A total of five days was spent in the Fifteen Mile gold district, Halifax county, Nova Scotia in November of 1982.  Samples of A, B and C horizons were collected at 21 sites along two trenches, approximately 90 and 100 m long respectively which are oriented N-S and perpendicular to the strike of the host strata.  Samples were collected at 10 m intervals.  A discussion of the work can be found in Dalhousie University B.Sc. thesis (MacEachern).

Data Description:

Paper report.

Quantities Analysed:

A-horizon samples for Au by AAS after aqua regia digestion. B-horizon for Pb by AAS after hot HNO3-HCl; for As by spectrophotometric comparison against standards; for Au by AAS after aqua regia digestion; and for Ag (no method given).  Four size fractions of the C-horizon samples were analysed for Pb, As, Au and Ag using the same methods listed above for the B-horizon samples.

Geochem Maps Available:

None.

Other Analyses:

HMC for gold grain work (electron microprobe and XRD techniques).

Publication History

Index Publication
1 MacEachern, I.J. (1983). The distribution, character and composition of gold in till at the Fifteen Mile Stream gold district, Halifax County, Nova Scotia. B.Sc. thesis, Dalhousie University, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada, 61 p. (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
45.1322° 45.134° -62.521° -62.518°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers part of NTS 11E/2 (Upper Musquodoboit) in central Nova Scotia.  It is centred on the Fifteen Mile Stream gold district which is located 32 km north of Sheet Harbour and lies within the Liscomb Game Sanctuary near the boundary of Halifax and Guysborough Counties.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Sol, Till

Nouvelle Écosse

1982

Échantillonnage du sol et du till, 11E/2 du SNRC, comté de Halifax, Nouvelle-Écosse (centre), 1982.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)

Description du levé


En novembre 1982, cinq jours ont été consacrés à l’échantillonnage du district aurifère de Fifteen Mile, dans le comté de Halifax (Nouvelle-Écosse).  Les échantillons des horizons  A, B et C ont été recueillis en 21 sites, le long de deux tranchées mesurant approximativement 90 et 100 m de long respectivement, orientées nord-sud et perpendiculaires à la direction des strates- hôtes. Les échantillons ont été recueillis à des intervalles de 10 m.  On traite de ces travaux dans un mémoire de baccalauréat de l’Université de Dalhousie (MacEachern).

Description de données:

Rapport imprimé.

Quantités analysées:

Dans les échantillons de l’horizon A, dosage du Au par AAS après digestion à l’eau régale. Dans les échantillons de l’horizon B dosage du Pb par AAS après digestion dans HNO3-HCl chauds, du As par comparaison spectrophotométrique aux normes, du Au par AAS après digestion à l’eau régale et du Ag (aucune méthode fournie). Dans quatre fractions granulométriques des échantillons de l’horizon C dosage du Pb, du As, du Au et du Ag par les mêmes méthodes que ci-haut pour les échantillons de l’horizon B

Cartes géochimiques disponibles:

Aucune.

Autres analyses:

CML pour travaux sur les grains d’or (microsonde électronique et techniques de XRD).

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 MacEachern, I.J. (1983). The distribution, character and composition of gold in till at the Fifteen Mile Stream gold district, Halifax County, Nova Scotia. B.Sc. thesis, Dalhousie University, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada, 61 p. (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
45.1322° 45.134° -62.521° -62.518°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre une partie de 11E/2 (Upper Musquodoboit) du SNRC dans le centre de la Nouvelle Écosse.  Il est centré sur le district aurifère Fifteen Mile Stream qui est situé à 32 km au nord de Sheet Harbour.  Il se trouve dans Liscomb Game Sanctuary près de la frontière des comtés de Halifax et Guysborough.

Mots-clés


Date de modification